Skip to main content
Go to search page

HUNT MENU

Youth and adult hunter

Hunt Youth Hunting Opportunities

State law allows any resident and nonresident youth 10 or older to hunt with a valid license during an open season, with certain restrictions applying.

If a hunter turns 12 by January 16, 2022, they may hunt any game species with a valid license during an open season after August 15, 2021. They must first, however, successfully complete an approved hunter education course.

 

Apprentice Hunter Program

The Apprentice Hunter program allows anyone 10 or older to hunt for up to two years without completing a hunter education course. Certain restrictions apply, and anyone certified as an Apprentice must be accompanied by a certified Mentor. 

 

Youth Waterfowl and Pheasant Weekend

Montana’s young hunters will have a special treat the weekend of the youth waterfowl and pheasant special seasons, September 25-26, 2021. Licensed hunters, 15 and under, will be able to hunt ducks, mergansers, geese, coots and pheasants statewide on these 2 days.

The 2-day youth hunt is open to:

  • legally licensed 12-15 year olds who have completed hunter education and who are accompanied by a non-hunting adult at least 18 years of age;

  • and properly certified and legally licensed apprentice hunters 10-15 years of age who are accompanied by a non-hunting adult "mentor" at least 21 years of age.

All regulations apply. The Canyon Ferry WMA is an exception— only to the youth waterfowl season shooting hours— they will be one-half hour before sunrise to noon.

 

Youth Deer-Only Hunt

A youth hunt for deer limited to youngsters between the ages of 12–15 was approved for October 21-22, 2021. These dates coincide with Montana’s annual 2-day teachers’ convention, which are no-school days for most public school students.

The 2-day youth hunt is open to:

  • legally licensed 12-15 year olds who have completed hunter education and who are accompanied by a non-hunting adult at least 18 years of age;

  • and properly certified and legally licensed apprentice hunters 10-15 years of age who are accompanied by a non-hunting adult "mentor" at least 21 years of age.

This hunt is for deer only. Elk hunting is prohibited. All regulations apply.

 

 

Youth Hunting Licenses

Resident Youth Combination

Includes fishing, upland game bird (excluding turkey), general deer and general elk licenses. Conservation with State Lands, Base Hunting and AISPP must be purchased separately. Available only to Montana residents 12-17 years of age.

Fees: $31

Nonresident youth combination

A youth, age 12-17, can be sponsored for a discounted Big Game, Elk or Deer Combination license by a parent, grandparent, or sibling at least 18 years of age, who at the time of application possess a valid 2021 Nonresident Big Game, Elk or Deer Combination license or a valid 2021 Resident Deer or Elk license.

 

Fees & Quota:
  • Youth Big Game: $523
    Quota: Unlimited

  • Youth Elk Combo: $442
    Quota: Unlimited

  • Youth Deer Combo: $306
    Quota: Unlimited

Exceptional Youth Application

Not available for purchase online

Use the following application to prepare and apply for the Exceptional Youth special status license offered by FWP. The form must be completed and returned to FWP as instructed on the form.