Skip to main content
Go to search page

EDUCATION MENU

Hunter afield

Hunt Hunter Education

Learn the skills needed to safely and responsibly hunt and bowhunt in Montana's great outdoors.

 

Montana’s early Hunter Safety Program began as a voluntary program in the late 1940s to reduce the high number of accidents while hunting. In 1957, the Montana Legislature passed a law formally creating the program and making it mandatory for youth. The law became effective in January 1958.

Over time, the Montana Hunter Education program has evolved but the safe handling of firearms remains the central focus. Led by dedicated volunteer instructors, students also learn ethics, wildlife identification, outdoor survival, and more.

Hunter Education

Who needs Hunter Education?

To purchase or apply for a Montana hunting license, any person born after January 1, 1985, must complete a hunter education course issued by Montana, any other state or any Canadian province. 

A student must be at least 10 years old to register for Montana's hunter education courses. Students ages 10-11 can take the course and hunt as an apprentice but will not be fully certified until the year they turn 12. Youth who have completed hunter education and will turn 12 years of age by January 16 of the license year may purchase or apply for licenses and hunt after August 15 of the license year.

Students must attend all classroom sessions, the field course and pass a final exam. Anyone age 18 or older can complete an online course but must still attend a field course to become certified.

Hunter and bowhunter education courses are led by volunteer instructors who are passionate about preserving Montana’s hunting tradition, teaching firearm safety and other outdoor skills.

 

Certification

To protect public health and reduce overall spread of COVID-19, FWP has temporarily cancelled all in-person hunter education classes.

To be certified, Montana residents can take the free, online-only course using code MThnDbeHtbWkJf20 at hunter-ed.com/montana.

Completing this online course is all that is currently required for certification. You must be 12 years of age by January 16, 2022, or older to register for this course. This course is for Montana residents only.

This course is administered through a third-party vendor, Kalkomey. Please direct any program (online) specific questions to Kalkomey's customer service department (toll-free). 

Kalkomey Customer Support

Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to midnight MDT and Saturday and Sunday from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. MDT.

Phone: 1-800-830-2268

 

Become a Volunteer Instructor

If you are interested in the future of hunting, in improving sportsmanship and safety in the field, or teaching an appreciation for the vast hunting resources in Montana, then we need you to join us and “Pass it On!”

Bowhunter Education

Who needs Bowhunter Education?

To purchase a Montana bow-and-arrow license, hunters must either complete the bowhunter education course from Montana or any other state, or show any prior year's bowhunting license from any state or province. An individual must be at least 11 years old to register for a bowhunter education classroom course. Anyone age 18 or older can complete an online course but must still attend a field course to become certified.

 

Certification

To protect public health and reduce overall spread of COVID-19, FWP has temporarily cancelled all in-person Bowhunter Education classes.

To be certified, Montana residents can take a free online-only course at bowhunter-ed.com/montana. Use the promo code MTehfEngEbehwK20 at the end of the course to cover the cost of the class. You must be 12 years of age by January 16, 2022, or older to register for this course. This course is for Montana residents only.

This course is administered through a third-party vendor, Kalkomey. Please direct any program (online) specific questions to Kalkomey's customer service department (toll-free). 

Kalkomey Customer Support

Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to midnight MDT and Saturday and Sunday from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. MDT.

Phone: 1-800-830-2268

 

Become a Volunteer Instructor

If you are interested in the future of hunting, in improving sportsmanship and safety in the field, or teaching an appreciation for the vast hunting resources in Montana, then we need you to join us and “Pass it On!”

Resources for Additional Learning

Apprentice Hunter Program

The Apprentice Hunter program allows anyone 10 or older to hunt for up to two years without completing a hunter education course. Certain restrictions apply, and anyone certified as an Apprentice must be accompanied by a certified Mentor. 

Wolf Trapper Education & Certification

Who needs a Wolf Trapper Certification Course?

Before setting a wolf trap in Montana, a person must successfully complete either a Montana FWP or Idaho offered trapper education and certification course.

Trappers who successfully completed a wolf trapping education and certification course in Montana or Idaho do not need to retake the course. Idaho trappers must present a certificate of completion/certification for the Idaho course issued by Idaho Fish and Game.

Some FWP regional offices will offer wolf trapper education and certification courses. Contact the regional office near you for more information. 

 

Sign up for the Course

The Montana wolf trapper education and certification courses are free and open to individuals age 11 and older. Each course will be a comprehensive education session taught by FWP staff and experienced wolf trappers. The trapping portion of each course will be taught by trappers who have considerable experience trapping wolves.

UPDATE: FWP will not conduct in-person wolf trapper certification classes in 2020 but will provide certification through online Zoom classes that will be available to residents and non-residents. 

Online Firearms Safety Course

Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks has approved this course in compliance with 45-8-321(3)(b) as an alternative firearms safety course that meets the training requirement to apply for a Montana concealed carry permit. There is no field day or hands-on requirement and is available to anyone 18 years-of-age or older.

This course is NOT a replacement for hunter education and does not satisfy the requirements in 87-2-105

 

Official Montana Firearms Safety Course

For questions, contact Wayde Cooperider at wacooperider@mt.gov or (406) 444-9947

Duplicate Hunter & Bowhunter Education Certificates

Duplicate certificates of completion for the Montana hunter education and bowhunter education courses may be obtained online at MyFWP using the Hunter/Bowhunter Education Certificate Form.

Remedial Hunter Education

Hunting is a privilege and the Remedial Hunter Education Program is designed to help make that point. The program consists of a series of exercises that illuminate Montana's rich hunting legacy and how important legal and responsible behavior is to the future of hunting in Montana.

The Remedial Hunter Education Program looks at the history of hunting in Montana (Montana Hunting Story), explores a hunter's reasons and motivations for hunting (Why I Hunt), and tests an individual's values by presenting various dilemmas and asking the hunter what they would do (Choose a Path For Hunting). If you are taking this program optionally, disregard the instructions for defendants and skip ahead to begin the exercises.

Contact Us

If you can't find what you're looking for please contact FWP regional offices directly.