Skip to main content
Go to search page

CONSERVATION MENU

Grizzly bear

Conservation > Species > Bear Contact FWP Bear Managers

Montana has dedicated staff who respond to bear conflicts and collaborate with the public to prevent conflicts.

Report conflicts to one of the nearest FWP bear management specialists listed below. 

Seeing a bear is not necessarily a reportable encounter or an emergency. Report encounters where the bear displayed aggressive or defensive behavior toward people, livestock or pets, or damaged property.

Grizzly bears are a federally protected species and conflict response is primarily conducted by state wildlife agencies, tribes, and USDA Wildlife Services under the authority of the US Fish & Wildlife Service.

It is illegal to harm, harass, or kill grizzly bears, except in cases of self defense or the defense of others.

 

FWP Wildlife Management Specialists

Kim Annis

Libby (406) 291-1320

kannis@mt.gov

Tim Manley

Kalispell (406) 250-1265

tim.manley@mt.gov

Erik Wenum

Kalispell (406) 250-0062

erik.wenum@mt.gov

Jamie Jonkel

Missoula (406) 542-5508

jajonkel@mt.gov

Eli Hampson

Missoula (406) 210-3213 Eli.Hampson@mt.gov

Kevin Frey

Bozeman (406) 577-7876

kfrey@mt.gov

Jeremiah Smith

Bozeman (406) 577-7877

jfsmith@mt.gov

Chad White

Choteau (406) 466-5100

charles.white@mt.gov

Wesley Sarmento

Conrad (406) 450-1097

wesley.sarmento@mt.gov

Rory Trimbo

Deer Lodge (406) 465-9343

rory.trembo@mt.gov

Kylie Kembel

Billings (406) 850-1131

kylie.kembel@mt.gov