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FAQs for Nonresident Hound License

The 2019 Legislature created a Nonresident Hound License (formerly known as the nonresident
Hound Handler License). Montana Statutes 87-1-325, 87-2-519, and 87-6-404 limit the number if
nonresident Hound Licenses in any license year to no more than 80 (the Fish and Wildlife
Commission approved only 40 for the 2021 season), authorize the Nonresident Hound License for
personal use only, and precludes using the license to assist any other person in the pursuit of a lion
for harvest. The cost of the license was reduced to $250.

New for Spring 2022: The Nonresident Hound License may be used by non-residents wanting to
pursue black bears with hounds.

This document is intended only to highlight common questions concerning the Hound License.
Please consult the 2021 Mountain Lion for complete hunting information.

Q: Which hound districts are open for nonresidents (that wish to use their own hounds) to apply
for a Nonresident Hound License?

A: There are 18 nonresident Hound Districts and each Nonresident Hound License will be valid in
only one hound district. District of choice will be specified on the application. See the map below
and a detailed list of the Lion Management Units (LMUs) that comprise a nonresident Hound
District at the end of the document.
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Q: How many nonresident Hound Licenses are available, and how will they be selected?

A: The statute limits the total number of nonresident Hound licenses to 80 per year; for License Year
2021, the Commission approved at most 40 for the fall season with a limit of two per Handler District
(only 36 will be distributed).

Q: Do I first need to purchase a nonresident Mountain Lion License before | apply for a Nonresident
Hound License?

A: Yes, you must have a conservation ($10), base hunting ($15), and nonresident mountain lion
license (general, special, or limited R2; $320) to hunt with a Nonresident Hound License ($250).
Together these licenses total $595.

Q: When can | apply and when will the licenses be drawn?

A: The drawing for nonresident Hound Licenses will occur AFTER the results for drawing a special
mountain lion license are available. A special mountain lion license can be applied for between June 30
and July 23, 2021. The drawing for the special lion license will be July 27, 2021. Applications for the
Nonresident Hound License will be available starting July 28, 2021. The deadline to apply for it will be
August 18 and the drawing will be August 20, 2021. To be eligible for the drawing, hunters must have
purchased one of the three types of mountain lion licenses.

Q: If I am unsuccessful in drawing a Nonresident Hound License, can | turn in my nonresident
Mountain Lion License (general, special, or limited R2) for a refund?

A: *Yes. Those who apply for a Nonresident Hound License and are unsuccessful may request a full
refund if their lion license no later than September 3 (the day before the start of the Archery Only lion
season).

* New for 2021

Q: Can the holder of a Nonresident Hound License assist someone else in pursuing a lion?

A: No, the Nonresident Hound License is for the purpose of personally harvesting or chasing a
mountain lion or black bear using hounds, and the license cannot be used to assist any other person
in the pursuit of a lion or black bear.

Q: What if | have a friend who is a Montana resident that owns hounds, can | hunt over their
hounds if | have a general, special, or limited R2 lion license?
A: Yes, you may hunt over their hounds, but you MUST hold a Nonresident Hound License.

Q: If | am a nonresident hound handler and | only intend to pursue and chase lions and not harvest a
lion, do | need the new Nonresident Hound License?

A: Yes, non-residents pursuing and chasing lions, even if they do not intend to harvest the lion, must
have a general, special, or limited R2 lion license AND a Nonresident Hound License.
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Q: Does a nonresident hunter need the hound license if they are hunting with an outfitter?
A: No, not if hunting with a Montana-licensed outfitter. Montana-licensed outfitters and guides and

non-residents hunting with Montana-licensed outfitters are not required to have the hound license.
Please note - It is illegal to pay for the services of a non-Montana-licensed outfitter or guide in the
pursuit of a mountain lion. It is illegal for a nonresident holder of the Nonresident Hound License to
aid anyone else in the pursuit of a lion.

Q: Do | need the hound license if hunting on my own land?

A: A nonresident with the appropriate lion license is not required to have a hound license if they are a
nonresident landowner who owns 640 or more contiguous acres in Montana. Nonpaying guests of
the nonresident landowner may also hunt and pursue mountain lions on the landowner's property
and any adjacent public land within 2 miles of the landowner's property without a hound license. The
appropriate lion license is still required.

Q: What opportunities are there for nonresident lion hunters to chase or harvest a lion in Montana?
A: The opportunities for nonresident hunter to chase or harvest a lion in Montana are with a General
Lion (over the counter), a Special Lion (drawing only), or a Limited Region 2 General Lion License
(available to unsuccessful Special Lion license applicants):

o without the use of hounds

o with their own hounds AND a Nonresident Hound License

o with hounds on 640 or more contiguous acres owned by the hunter

o with hounds on 640 or more contiguous acres owned by a nonresident who the hunter is a guest
of, with no exchange of money or favors
with a Montana-licensed outfitter

e}

o with a Montana resident's hounds AND a Nonresident Hound License.
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Table 1. Nonresident Hound License areas, the Lion Management Units (Hunting Districts) they
consist of, and LPT availability for 2021.





