State of Montana Website Montana State Parks Website
  Home » News » News Releases » State Parks » State Parks News
State Parks News
Volunteer and Join Us to Celebrate National Public Lands Day

(Helena, MT) – Montana State Parks (stateparks.mt.gov) is encouraging the public to volunteer for National Public Lands Day special events on Saturday, Sept. 29.

“Come on out and help us plant trees or clear trails and more at one of your state parks,” said Chas Van Genderen, Administrator for Montana State Parks. “This is a great day to celebrate by volunteering.”

Governor Brian Schweitzer has officially recognized Sept. 29 as National Public Lands Day in the state of Montana.

National Public Lands Day (http://www.publiclandsday.org/ ) is the nation's largest, single-day volunteer event for public lands. Last year more than 170,000 volunteers across the nation participated helping to maintain 1500 miles of trails, planting 100,000 trees and native shrubs and more.

Montana State Parks AmeriCorps members are helping to coordinate the activities.

2012 Montana State Parks’ National Public Lands Day events:

Billings
o Cooney State Park in Roberts
A park clean up activity 9 a.m.-1 p.m., including the help of local Boy Scouts and 4-H members, will be followed with a barbeque lunch. Gloves and trash bags will be provided. Contact: Jenny Alexander, Park Manager, 406-445-2326, or jalexander@mt.gov.

 o Lake Elmo State Park in Billings
Volunteers will be clearing an overgrowth of vegetation from the park from 9 a.m - noon. Contact: Terri Walters, Park Manager, 406-247-2940, or twalters@mt.gov .

Bozeman
o Lewis & Clark Caverns State Park near Three Forks
Brief programs 10 a.m.- 3 p.m., accompanied by educational materials, will showcase Lewis & Clark Caverns State Park’s landscape, ecosystem, and history. Programs will be at the visitor center nearest the cavern. To contact the park, call 406-287-3541, or email Rhea Armstrong at rarmstrong@mt.gov .

Butte
o Bannack State Park near Dillon
Activities noon- 3 p.m. will include planting trees near the visitor center parking lot and trail work. To contact the park, call 406-834-3413, or email Dale Carlson, Park Manager, at dalec@mt.gov .

Great Falls
o Giant Springs State Park in Great Falls
Trail work is planned 9 a.m.-1 p.m. on the North Shore of the Missouri River. To contact the park, call the Park Ranger Station at 406-727-1212, or email rangerstation1212@gmail.com .

o First Peoples Buffalo Jump State Park near Ulm
The park will sponsor a clean-up event from 8:30 -11:30 a.m. To contact the park, call 406-866-2217, or email Richard Hopkins, Park Manager, at rhopkins@mt.gov, or buffalojump@gmail.com .

Kalispell
o Lone Pine State Park near Kalispell
Trail maintenance activities will occur 8:45 a.m. - 1 p.m., with a barbeque at 1 p.m. at the park’s picnic shelter. To contact the park, call 406-755-2706 or email Amy Grout, Park Manager, at agrout@mt.gov .

Missoula
Milltown State Park near Missoula
Activities from 10 a.m.- 1 p.m. will include trail work, planting, picking up litter, fencing and plant watering. Volunteers are invited to a celebration and barbeque at Fort Missoula Regional Park at 1:30 p.m. To contact the park, call 406-542-5533, or email Michael Kustudia, Park Manager, at mkustudia@mt.gov .

For more information about National Public Lands Day visit http://www.publiclandsday.org/.

Visit Montana State Parks (stateparks.mt.gov) and enjoy camping, hiking, fishing, swimming, boating and more and discover some of the greatest natural and cultural treasures on earth.

Connect with Montana State Parks on Facebook
Twitter @MTStateParks