You are here:   Home » News » News Releases » Hunting » Deadline for deer and elk permits is April 1

Deadline for deer and elk permits is April 1


Thu Mar 26 12:37:38 MDT 2020

Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks reminds hunters that the deadline to apply for deer and elk licenses for nonresidents and deer and elk permits for everyone is April 1. The purchase deadline for spring black bear is April 14 without a 24 hour wait. Hunters should apply now and not wait until the last minute. Hunters who are applying for special licenses or permits will need to do so online at and will still need to have a valid email address.

License buyers can still purchase their licenses online or from any license provider. To ensure that licenses are in before the season openers, turkey and black bear hunters may want to purchase licenses from a provider.

To protect the public and staff from the spread of COVID-19, FWP temporarily closed its offices around the state to the public. The FWP office closures will remain in effect for the foreseeable future. Staff are assisting customers with their licensing needs through both our statewide call center at 406-444-2950, and via email at

Much of the recent traffic to FWP offices were people who had trouble printing their licenses. Two key changes the public should be aware of:

  • FWP will mail licenses and carcass tags to those who purchase them online, just as in years past.
  • People who have had trouble printing their licenses during the past two weeks will receive them in the mail.

Visitor centers and public meeting spaces at offices, state parks and fish hatcheries are also temporarily closed due to recommendations on social distancing to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

For those who need assistance with their purchase, please call the FWP licensing center at 406-444-2950, Monday through Friday between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., or your regional or area office, Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.:  Email assistance is available by emailing

Region 1 (Kalispell)


Region 2 (Missoula)


Region 3 (Bozeman)


Helena Area Office


Butte Area Office


Region 4 (Great Falls)


Lewistown Area Office


Region 5 (Billings)


Region 6 (Glasgow)


Havre Area Office


Region 7 (Miles City)


FWP Headquarters (Helena)



Additional information on COVID-19 is also available online, on DES social media, and via phone

  • Twitter @MontanaDES
  • Facebook
  • Instagram @MontanaDES406