State of Montana Website Montana State Parks Website
  Home » News » News Releases » Hunting » Replacement Licenses To Cost More
Replacement Licenses To Cost More
Thursday, September 27, 2007
Hunting
This news release was archived on Saturday, October 27, 2007

Recent spikes in requests for replacement hunting and fishing licenses prompted state officials to boost the cost and to urge hunters and anglers to keep track of their original licenses. 

"Requests for replacement deer and elk licenses alone increased to more than 9,000 last year," said Jim Kropp, Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks' chief of law enforcement. "We trust that many misplaced their licenses, but we also know some of the replacement licenses were used as a means to take wildlife illegally."

A new license-replacement policy, which goes into effect September 28, increases the cost of a replacement license from $1 to $5.  First-time replacement licenses will be available at any FWP license provider. However, to replace a second carcass tag a person must go to an FWP office for a replacement license.

"We hope this change will eliminate some of the illegal activity without unnecessarily penalizing our honest sportsmen and sportswomen," Kropp said.