Headlines - Region 1
Fri Apr 30 00:00:00 MDT 2010
A new state law passed in 2009 increases the penalty for some vandalism at Montana State Parks and fishing access sites. Under the new law, those convicted of vandalizing FWP property are required to forfeit their current hunting and fishing licenses and give up their hunting and fishing privileges for two years, in addition to any fines and restitution ordered by the courts.
According to Region One Park Administrator Dave Landstrom, vandalism is a costly problem at state parks in northwest Montana. For example, last year vandals defaced a new sign just installed at Lone Pine State Park and blew up a portable latrine at Foys Lake. These two acts of vandalism alone cost sportsman about $1,500.
The bulk of funding for fishing access sites comes from fishing license sales, so sportsmen are bearing most of the cost of the vandalism. Anyone with information about vandalism at fishing access sites is encouraged to call the 1-800-TIP-MONT, the FWP’s crime reporting line. Those with information leading to a conviction could qualify for a reward of up to $1,000.
Montana State Parks open across the state on Saturday, May 1.
Attached: photos of vandalism at Lone Pine State Park and Foys Lake in Northwest Montana.