Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks (FWP) will offer a boating education class on Thursday, Sept. 13 from 6:30-9 p.m., at the FWP office in Missoula, 3201 Spurgin Road.
The class will include an overview of boating safety, equipment requirements and the rules of safe operation. Participants must register and read the boating manual prior to the class.
Montana law requires youth 13 and 14 years of age to pass a boating safety course in order to operate a motorboat or personal watercraft without an adult on board.
A boating certificate will be issued to those who successfully complete the class and a related test. A student must be at least 12 years old to register for the class. A parent or guardian must accompany students under the age of 16.
The class is free of charge. To register, visit the Missoula FWP office at 3201 Spurgin Road. Call (406) 542-5500 for additional information