Tue Feb 21 00:00:00 MST 2006
Montana's 2005 hunting and fishing licenses expire Feb. 28, and new licenses for 2006 bring the first change in general fees for Montana hunters and anglers in 12 years.
The 2005 Montana Legislature approved a resident fee increase that will go into effect March 1. Montana's last general resident fee increase came in 1994. Nonresident fees were last increased in 2003.
The Montana Legislature adopted the new resident fees to allow FWP to maintain existing programs, operations, and customer services through 2009. The 2005 legislation also created several new discounts for resident youth, disabled, and senior hunters and anglers.
Montana's 2006 hunting and fishing licenses will be available from all license providers beginning Feb. 21.
Here are some of the new fees for Montana residents:
Partial list of 2006 licenses
2004 Hunt Planner
*Moose, Sheep and Goat applicants will, as in the past, submit $75 + drawing fee with their application. Those who are successful would be required to pay an additional $50.