Fri Feb 22 00:00:00 MST 2002
Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks reminds recreationists that all 2001 hunting and fishing licenses and Montana State Parks Passports expire at midnight on Thursday, February 28. To fish or pursue any game animals during scheduled seasons from March 1 of this year through Feb. 28, 2003, hunters and anglers will need to have new 2002 licenses.
The 2002 licenses will be the first purchased through the new Automated Licensing System recently installed in FWP offices and at license providers' establishments across the state. FWP encourages license buyers to purchase their licenses early and to allow a little extra time for the transaction because the technology is new to the license providers and FWP personnel using it. The computer-generated licenses will have a new look and the automated system will help improve wildlife management, communication and enforcement.
Also new this year is the Hunting Access Enhancement fee for anyone who purchases a Montana hunting license. The fee, created by the 2001 Legislature, will help FWP maintain and enhance hunting access to public and private lands statewide through programs like Access Montana, Block Management and other hunting access projects. This annual fee ($2 for residents and $10 for nonresidents) is charged at the time the hunter purchases the first hunting license of the year.
Montana residents will also be able to buy a two-day fishing license this year. The license is valid for 2 consecutive days and costs $5, plus the $4 conservation license fee.
The State Parks Passport for 2002 is also available now. The Parks Passport permits recreationists unlimited access from March 1 through Feb. 28, 2003 to all state parks where user fees are charged.
All new licenses and the State Parks Passport are on sale at FWP offices or may be obtained from FWP license providers around the state.