You are here:   Home » News » News Releases » Education » Northwest Montana Hunter and Bowhunter Education Instructors Honored

Northwest Montana Hunter and Bowhunter Education Instructors Honored

Education - Region 1

Tue Mar 31 15:41:44 MDT 2015

Hunter and Bowhunter Education Instructors will receive service awards from Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks at the annual Region One Instructor Workshop to be held Saturday, March 7 at Flathead Valley Community College in Kalispell. A total of 44 Instructors will receive service awards ranging from 5 to 50 years of service. All service award recipients receive a plaque; additional awards include: 10 year: engraved knife; 20 year: FWP belt buckle; 45 year: Filson vest; 50 year: Hall of Fame wall plaque and Honorarium. A number of other awards will also be presented. Highlights this year include Leonard Howke’s award for 50 years of service, and 45 year awards for Donald Garner and Paul Murphy.

2015 Service Awards this year include:

50-year Hunter Education Award: Leonard Howke, Whitefish.
45-year Hunter Education Award: Donald Garner, Kalispell; Paul Murphy, Columbia Falls.
25- year Hunter Education Award: Dan Atkinson; Charlie Stafford, both of Kalispell
20-year Hunter Education Awards: Challis Crismore, Libby; Harold Hudson, Trout Creek; Tressa Schutter, Kalispell; Judy Somers, Kila.
15-year Hunter Education Awards: Sydney Breland, Kalispell; Thad Briggs, Olney; Dennis Urban, Kalispell.
10-year Hunter Education Awards: Garry Keys, Columbia Falls; Tyler Long, Kalispell; David Noble, Libby; Angela Pagel, Kalispell; Crissy Pagel, Kalispell; Jay Sheffield, Libby; James Watson, Kalispell.
5-year Hunter Education Awards: Pat Connolly, Plains; Morgan Corkish, Kalispell; Bergandy Day, Bigfork; Stephanie Diaddezio, Kalispell; Kim Earhart, Plains; Tom Fieber, Polson; Ranee Hazen, Rexford; Russ McAllister, Kila; Benjamin Miller, Rexford; Trevor Paro, Hot Springs; Andrea Seymour, Kalispell; Alan Sichting, Libby; Mackenzie Williams, Kalispell.
20-year Bowhunter Education Award: Tim Bartholomew, Kalispell; Tim Thier, Trego
15-year Bowhunter Education Award: David Conrad, Polson; Wayne Crismore, Plains; Aaron Lasco, Kalispell

10-year Bowhunter Education Award: William Humenik, Kalispell; Jay Sheffield, Libby; Tony Stephens, Libby
5-year Bowhunter Education Award: Pat Connolly, Plains; Kim Earhart, Plains; Larry Keyes, Whitefish; Daniel Sitkins, Kalispell.

All Hunter and Bowhunter Education Instructors are volunteers for FWP. They provide safety, ethics, and firearms and archery equipment handling training to young students across Montana. In Region One (northwest Montana) more than 300 instructors train about 2,000 students each year.