State of Montana Website Montana State Parks Website
  Home » News » News Releases » Drought & Fire » Fire Restrictions Lifted in 7 Montana Counties
Fire Restrictions Lifted in 7 Montana Counties
Wednesday, October 05, 2011
Drought & Fire - Region 6
This news release was archived on Friday, November 4, 2011

Stage I fire restrictions were rescinded on all private, state and federal lands within Fergus, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Petroleum, Phillips, Roosevelt and Valley counties effective Wed., Oct. 5. Additionally, fire restrictions are rescinded for U.S. Forest Service lands in the Little and Big Snowy Mountains and for all U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service lands within the C.M. Russell National Wildlife Refuge. Fort Belknap Tribal Forestry representatives have also elected to rescind Stage 1 fire restrictions on all tribal lands within the Fort Belknap Reservation.
Stage I fire restrictions still remain in effect on all private, state and federal lands within Blaine, Chouteau and Hill counties until further notice. 
The Lewistown Area Restrictions Group would like to remind the public when working and recreating outdoors to please continue to use extreme caution in order to decrease the chance of human-caused fires and avoid resource and property damage. Anyone who causes a wildland fire intentionally or through negligence may be held accountable for damage and suppression costs. Normal field activities such as off-road vehicle travel, smoking, the use of fires for warming and cooking, and even the firing of weapons can readily start fires under the right conditions. Hunters, recreationalists and others are urged to take extra precautions to avoid starting a wildfire.   Additionally, burn permits are still required for any debris burning and may have additional limits. Check with your local sheriff’s office or fire department for information on burn permits.
            The Lewistown Area Restrictions Group coordinates interagency fire restrictions on federal, state, tribal and private land in the Lewistown Restrictions Area, covering north-central and extreme northeastern Montana. The group includes representatives from the Forest Service; Bureau of Land Management; Bureau of Indian Affairs; U.S Fish and Wildlife Service; U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation; Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks, and the counties of Hill, Blaine, Phillips, Valley, Daniels, Sheridan, Roosevelt, Chouteau, Judith Basin, Fergus, Petroleum, Wheatland and Golden Valley.
            For more information, please contact the Bureau of Land Management at 406-538-1900; C.M. Russell National Wildlife Refuge at 538-8706; Lewis and Clark National Forest at 406-791-7754; Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation at 406-538-7789; your local office of Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks or your local fire department or sheriff’s office.