A hunter may harvest only 1 elk in either HD 360 or 362 by using either a general elk license or an antlerless B license. Successful elk hunters must report their harvested elk within 72 hours by calling 1-877-FWP-WILD (397-9453) or (406) 444-0356.
Please take a survey about your hunting experience. Your response is greatly appreciated since it will help maintain the next season hunting opportunities.
The Montana State Legislature passed a new law that establishes a preference point system to distribute "Class B-10" nonresident big game combination licenses and "Class B-11" nonresident deer combination licenses. [Learn more]
Find out everything you need to know, as a nonresident, about the 2013 Deer & Elk Combination License. [Learn more]
How controversial hunting regulations restored big bulls to the Elkhorn Mountains—Just a generation ago, a hunter would have been hard-pressed to find a mature male elk in the Elkhorn Mountains. For years, a hunter with a general elk license could legally shoot any antlered bull there. Few male elk survived the hunting season.
Advice for residents and nonresidents on finding where to hunt, obtaining reliable information, and negotiating the licensing and permitting process—To a beginner—whether resident or nonresident—trying to learn about elk hunting in Montana can seem like entering a secret society.
Get one year of Montana Outdoors for only $12, Subscribe Now!