
               Valid March 2016 – February 2017 
ATTENTION HUNTERS & ANGLERS 

 
* Purchasing Montana Resident Licenses * 

 
A person who has physically resided in Montana as the person’s principal or primary home or place of abode for 180 
consecutive days and who meets all the criteria listed below immediately prior to making application for any license is 
eligible to receive resident hunting, fishing, and trapping licenses. A person who has established residency as detailed 
above can maintain that status by continuing to meet the criteria listed below and physically residing in Montana at their 
primary home or abode for not less than 120 days a year.  *A vacant lot or premises used solely for business purposes is 
not considered a principal or primary home or place of abode & owning property in Montana does not in and of itself 
make an individual a Montana resident. 
 

1. The person’s principal or primary home or place of abode is in Montana. 
 

2. The applicant files Montana state income tax returns if required to file as a resident. 
 

3. The applicant licenses and titles in Montana (as required by law) any vehicles that he or she owns and operates 
in Montana. 

 
4. The applicant does not possess or apply for any resident hunting, fishing, or trapping privileges in another 

state or country.  (There is an exception for Montana residents who are active members of the armed forces 
and who entered the service from Montana.) 

 
5. The applicant, if registered to vote, is only registered in Montana. 

 
6. An unmarried minor whose parents, legal guardian, custodial parent or parent with visitation rights is a 

resident for purposes of this section is also considered a resident for purposes of this section. 
 
MEMBERS OF THE ARMED FORCES (does not include National Guard, Military Reserves, civilian employees of 
the military or Public Health Service) of the United States, member’s dependents, who reside in the member’s Montana 
household, or member of the armed forces of a foreign government attached to the regular armed force of the United 
States, who is currently stationed in and assigned to active duty in Montana is considered a resident after having resided 
in Montana for at least 30 days, substantiated by presenting official military assignment orders. In addition, a military 
member and member’s dependents are required by law to present when purchasing resident hunting licenses, a 
certificate verifying the successful completion of a hunter safety course in any state or province. 
 
IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR PURCHASING MONTANA HUNTING OR FISHING 
LICENSES: State law says: An applicant for a resident license shall provide documentation establishing identity & 
qualifications to purchase licenses such as: 
 

1. A VALID Montana driver’s license; or 
 

2. A VALID Montana identification card; or 
 
3.    A Montana Tribal identification card; or 

 
        4.    Other ID accepted by the department for applicants less than 18 years of age: 
                      A. Student ID card; or 

B. Valid Parents Montana Drivers License or valid Montana ID Card; or 
C. Active duty military dependant ID with orders and hunter safety certificate from any state or province. 

 
5. Any applicant who fails to supply any information required on the license (Last 4 digits SSN is required) or 

fails to show proof of identity shall be refused the license. License Providers by law, cannot determine a 
license applicant’s residence status.  Contact your local game warden or Fish Wildlife & Parks office. 

 
Out-of-state driver’s licenses or a previous year’s conservation license ARE NOT acceptable forms of ID for purchase 
for Resident licenses. 
 
IT IS UNLAWFUL: 

1. To purchase a resident license if you do not meet the residency requirements. 
 
2. To swear or affirm to a false statement when purchasing a license. 

 
3. To purposely or knowingly assist an unqualified applicant in obtaining a resident license. 

 
4.     For a license provider to sell a resident license to an applicant who fails to produce the required ID at the time 
        of application for a license. 

 
5. Penalties – fine is twice the cost of the nonresident license, up to 6 months in jail, and license revocation 

for not less than 18 months. Montana actively pursues residency and duplicate license fraud. 
 
IF YOU ARE UNSURE OF YOUR RESIDENCY STATUS OR HAVE ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS ABOUT 
RESIDENCY, PLEASE CONTACT YOUR LOCAL GAME WARDEN OR DEPARTMENT OF FWP OFFICE. 

1-800 TIP-MONT (847-6668) To Report Violations 

1420 East Sixth Avenue 
Helena MT 59620-0701 
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