Montana Fish,

Apprentice Hunter Program - The People ) Wildlife (2 Park

The new “Apprentice Hunter” law was enacted by the 2015 State
Legislature creating the opportunity for youth 10-17 years of age Mentor

to hunt without completing hunter education. ﬁ

A mentor MUST

] - be 21 years old or older
Apprentice - be related to the apprentice by blood, adoption,

or marriage; or be the apprentice’s legal guardian,

An apprentice MUST: ﬁ or be designated by the apprentice’s legal guard-
- be between the ages of 10-17 years old at the ian

time of license purchase. have completed hunter education—if born after

have appropriate current Montana hunting li- Jan. 1, 1985
cense(s) for the species being hunted; the licens-
es MUST show that he/she is Apprentice Hunter

have a current Montana hunting license

Certified - complete a Apprentice Hunter Mentor Form
. PR
agree to accompany and supervise the apprentice hunter

An apprentice MAY: and remain within sight of and direct voice contact with the

be a resident or nonresident apprentice hunter at all times while in the field

obtain an Apprentice Hunter Certification for no more than 2 - confirm that the apprentice hunter possesses the physical

license years before they must complete a hunter safety and and psychological capacity to safetly and ethically engage in

education course hunting activities
An apprentice is NOT ELIGIBLE to: Violation of these terms could result in the loss of hunting

. . . . ) . rivileges for up to one full license season.

obtain a special bow and arrow license without first having \_ P & P J

completed a bowhunter education course

obtain a resident hound training license for chasing moun- Parent or Legal Guardian

tain lion

participate in a hunting license or permit drawing with a If the mentor is not related to the apprentice by 0

limited quota blood, adoption, or marriage, the parent MUST 4

obtain any bighorn sheep license
designate the mentor on an Apprentice Hunter

Mentor Form (available online or at any FWP

office.)

obtain an elk license if under 15 years of age

Violation of these terms could result in the loss of hunting
privileges for up to one full license season.

/ - -

For forms and more information, visit the FWP website: http://fwp.mt.gov/apprenticeHunter




Apprentice Hunter Program - The Process

Obtaining an Apprentice Hunter Certificate

Who
The apprentice hunter MUST go to

! ,‘
an FWP Office and have a completed
Apprentice Hunter Certification Form ﬁ
to purchase their Apprentice Hunter
Certificate. \ ,
Where ,
asp o®

Purchase at any FWP office.

Fee

$5
\ J

Purchasing Species Specific License(s)

Who
The apprentice may purchase any ap- ¥

propriate licenses that the apprentice
is eligible for once they have received ' I’
their Apprentice Hunter Certification.

Where

Purchase at any FWP office or license
provider.

Fee a8 @9

An apprentice hunter who is under

12 years of age is eligible to obtain the

unlimited reduced cost licenses available to a person who is 12
years of age. All other normal license fees apply.

- /

Montana Fish,
) Wildlife (R Parks

Completing Apprentice Hunter Mentor Form

\_

Who

The mentor MUST complete the form.
The mentor MUST sign their section and
get signed approval from the parent or
legal guardian, if applicable.

Where

The form can be picked up at any FWP
office or downloaded from the FWP
website.

Fee
There is no fee for the form.

-

/

\_

The mentor MUST accompany and su-
pervise the apprentice while hunting and
MUST remain within sight of and direct

voice contact with the apprentice hunter

at all times. The mentor MUST have the ﬁ
Apprentice Hunter Mentor Form in his/her

possession at all times while in the field. \ /
A mentor MAY also hunt when ‘ ’
accompanying their apprentice

The apprentice MUST have their
Conservation License and other applicable
licenses in their possession at all times while in the field.

\_

For forms and more information, visit the FWP website: http://fwp.mt.gov/apprenticeHunter



Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks

W Montana Fish, 1420 E. 6th Avenue

) Wildlife R Paris Helena, MT 59620-0701

(406) 444-2535

Apprentice Hunter Certfication Form

Take this completed form to an FWP office to be certified and to purchase your Ap-
prentice Hunter Certificate ($5). The Apprentice must also purchase a Conservation
License along with any appropriate Montana hunting license(s) for the species being
hunted.

Apprentice Information

Name First Ml Last Ir./Sr. Home Phone
« )
Mailing Address Physical Address
City State Zipcode Country
Weight Height Hair Eyes Date of Birth ALSH# Last 4-digits of SSN
1 Female
O male

Signature of Apprentice

X

A person 10-17 years of age may be certified to receive an apprentice hunting license
and may hunt in Montana, without hunter education, when accompanied by a mentor.
The apprentice hunter is NOT ELIGIBLE to:

obtain a special bow and arrow license without first having completed a bowhunter
education course;

obtain a resident hound training license for chasing mountain lion;
participate in a hunting license or permit drawing with a limited quota;
obtain any bighorn sheep license;

obtain an elk license if under 15 years of age.



Apprentice Hunter Mentor Form A\ Montana Fish,,

APPRENTICE

A person 10-17 years old who is awarded an apprentice hunting certificate may hunt in Montana when ac-
companied by a mentor but is NOT ELIGIBLE to:

* obtain a special bow and arrow license without first having completed a bowhunter education course;

e obtain a resident hound training license for chasing mountain lion;

e participate in a hunting license or permit drawing with a limited quota;

e obtain any bighorn sheep license;

e obtain an elk license if under 15 years of age.

Apprentice Information

Last Name: First Name: Ml
Address: City: State:____ Zip code:
Date of Birth: ALS Number:

MENTOR

A mentor must be at least 21 years old and meet all of the following requirements:

related to the apprentice, or appointed by the apprentice’s legal guardian; if born after Jan. 1, 1985, must have completed hunter education;
must have a current Montana hunting license; agree to supervise closely the apprentice and remain within sight of and direct voice contact
with the apprentice hunter at all times while in the field; confirm that the apprentice is psychologically and physically prepared to hunt.

Violation of these terms by an apprentice hunter or mentor could result in the loss of hunting privileges for up to one full license season.

Mentor Information

Last Name: First Name: Ml:
Address: City: State:__ Zip code:
Date of Birth: Hunter Ed.Cert.#:___ ALSNumber:______ Phone number:

Mentor is: D Related to the apprentice by blood, adoption, or marriage, or is the apprentice’s legal guardian

D Designated as a mentor by the parent or legal guardian of the apprentice
I, the undersigned, confirm that the above named apprentice possesses the physical and psychological capacity to safely and ethically engage

in hunting activities. Furthermore, | acknowledge that | have read and understand all of the above conditions required of me while acting as an
apprentice mentor. In signing this form, |, the undersigned, swear or affirm that all of the information contained in this form is true and correct.

Signature of Mentor:

PARENT or LEGAL GUARDIAN and ASSIGNMENT to MENTOR

This section is required if mentor is NOT related to the apprentice by blood, adoption, or marriage.

Parent or Legal Guardian Information

Last Name: First Name: Ml:
Address: City: State: Zip code:
Date of Birth: HunterEd.Cert.#:___ ALSNumber._____ Phone number:

Assignment to mentor

I, , as the parent or legal guardian of the above named apprentice hereby affirm that the above
named mentor is capable and qualified to assist the named apprentice and hereby grant my permission to him/her to accompany the named
apprentice.

Signature of Parent or Legal Guardian Authorizing Mentor:

This form must remain in the possession of the mentor at all times while in the field.



