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THE MONTANA SUPERTAG

TAKE ANOTHER

SHOT AT THE DREAM

$5 BUYS YOU A SHOT AT A HUNT OF A LIFETIME!

For just $5 per chance, eight lucky hunters will win a SuperTag license

to hunt moose, elk, deer, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, antelope, bison

or mountain lion in any hunting district in Montana. To purchase your
chance, visit fwp.mt.gov/supertag, or visit any hunting and fishing li-

cense provider.

Photos by donaldmjones.com
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FWP Commission Adopted 2013 Season Dates

These regulations are adopted under
the authority granted to the Fish,
Wildlife & Parks Commission (FWPC)
in MCA 87-1-301 and are valid March 1,
2013, through February 28, 2014. These
regulations were adopted by the FWPC on
February 14, 2013. The FWPC reserves
the authority to amend the seasons,
limits and regulations herein if deemed
necessary for wildlife management
purposes. Jeff Hagener, Director.

Discrimination Prohibited — State and
Federal laws, Title VI of Civil Rights Act
of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation
Act of 1973, Title Il of the Americans
with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age
Discrimination Act of 1975, and Title IX
of the Education Amendments of 1972,
prohibit discrimination on the basis of
race, color, sex, age, religion, national
origin, or disability. Anyone believing he
or she has been discriminated against (as
described above) in any Fish, Wildlife &
Parks (FWP) program, activity, or facility
may write to FWP Personnel Office, 1420
East Sixth Avenue, PO Box 200701,
Helena, MT 59620-0701 or the office of
Equal Opportunity, U.S. Department of the
Interior, Washington, D.C. 20240.
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2013 Moose « Sheep * Goat

These dates represent the “general”
season dates. Check the individual hunting
district regulations for the most accurate
season dates and regulations.

Big Game
Antelope
900 series ............. Aug 15-Nov 10
archery.................. Sept 7-Oct 11
general.......cccc...... Oct 12—Nov 10
Bighorn Sheep
archery......ccoo.... Sept 5-Sept 14
general.......cccocu... Sept 15-Dec 1
Bison ........ccccovvinnnnns Nov 15—-Feb 15, 2014
Black bear
(<] o] 1o [o [N Apr 15-Various
(May 15/June 15)
archery .......cocooe... Sept 1-Sept 14
fall oo Sept 15-Dec 1
Deer & Elk
archery.................. Sept 17-0ct 20
youth, two-day hunt;
deeronly............ Oct 17-Oct 18
general.......cc......... Oct 26—-Dec 1
backcountry — HDs 150, 151, 280, 316*
archery............... Sept 7-Sept 14
general............... Sept 15-Dec 1
Moose.......cceeeeeunee. Sept 15-Dec 1
Mountain Goat.......... Sept 15-Dec 1
Mountain Lion
archery.......coceoue... Sept 7-Oct 20
fall oo Oct 26-Dec 1
winter .........cceeeee. Dec 1-Apr 14, 2015

Upland Game Birds
Mountain Grouse....... Sept 1-Jan 1, 2015

Partridge................... Sept 1-Jan 1, 2015
Pheasant .................. Oct 12—-Jan 1, 2015
Sage Grouse ............ Sept 1-Nov 1
Sharp-tailed Grouse . Sept 1-Jan 1, 2015
Turkey

SPriNG c.evveereeeeinee Apr 13-May 19

1721 | I Sept 1-Jan 1, 2015

* HD 316 does not have an archery season

2013 Application/Purchase
Deadlines

Big Game
Antelope .......ccceiiiieiiiiie, June 1
Bighorn Sheep..........cccceeneeee. May 1
BisoNn......ccccooiiiiiiiie May 1
Black Bear
SPIING. e Apr 14*
fall.eee Aug 31*
Deer & Elk
special permits............ccoceueee Mar 15
special licenses ................... June 1
MOOSE......coviiiiiiiiiieiiee e May 1
Mountain Goat..........ccccccvueeeen. May 1
Mountain Lion
general license.................... Aug 31*
special limited entry ........... Aug 31
Super Tags

Antelope, Bighorn Sheep, Bison,
Deer, Elk, Moose, Mountain Goat
and Mountain Lion t............. July 5

Upland Game, Migratory and
Webless Migratory Birds

Crane.....cccceeveeeeeiieesee e July 25
SWaN...ccoiiiiiiiieeie e Sept 5
Turkey
(<] o] {1 o IR Mar 7
fall oo July 25

*see species-specific regulations for
license purchase restrictions.

Reminders for 2013

» March 15 is now the application deadline
for all deer and elk special permits.

» The deadline to purchase all SuperTag
chances is July 5.

» Special Considerations for Hunters with
a Disability and Youth Hunters, pages
43-44.

» The Subject Index is on page 4.

hat's New? Highlights

Each species (Moose, Bighorn Sheep and Mountain Goat) has its’ own section which
includes the map(s), hunting district regulations and legal descriptions. Blue tabs identify
the Moose section, green tabs identify the Bighorn Sheep section and lime-green tabs

identify the Mountain Goat section.

The following changes for the 2013 hunting season are only highlights.

Bighorn Sheep

» The quota for 121-00 was reduced.
» 121-30 is not offerred this year.

* HD 455 is closed.

Visit fwp.mt.gov 11

=
>0
2
o
Z
)
=
Ro
w
@
©
7]
o
5
)
2
®
7]




Laws and Regulations

These regulations
contain information
to safely and
legally participate in
Montana’s Moose,
Bighorn Sheep,

and Mountain Goat
hunting opportunities.

Hunters who

hunt legally and
responsibly keep
Montana’s hunting
traditions alive.

Don't risk losing the
privilege of hunting in Montana.

Be Safe
Be Legal
Be Responsible!

Hunter Land Access

Hunters, it is your responsibility to know
where you are, to know who owns the land,
and to know what access restrictions apply.

Private Land

» Montana law requires permission for all
hunting on private land.

» Even if the land is not posted, hunters
must have permission from the
landowner, lessee, or their agent before
hunting on private property.

» Access to public lands through private
land requires permission of the private
landowner, lessee, or their agent.

» See page 44 for information on FWP’s
Block Management Program.

Montana State Parks

Some of Montana’s state parks provide
hunting opportunities; however certain
restrictions may apply such as no-hunting
safety zones and/or restrictions on the
type of hunting weapon or firearm that
may be used. Contact the specific park
and/or refer to the Montana State Park
website at stateparks.mt.gov for site
specific information regarding hunting
opportunities and restrictions.

Off-Road Travel and Game Retrieval

* While hunting on private property, a
person may not drive off established
roads or trails without landowner
permission.

« Off-road travel on public land, including
game retrieval, is prohibited unless
designated as open. Consult appropriate
land agency or land map for specifics.

« All federally approved travel plans on
public lands in Montana are hereby
adopted by the FWP Commission.

Public Land

* Public lands closed to hunting include:
- National Parks

- National Wildlife Refuge lands except
those areas designated open to public
hunting.

» For hunting opportunities on federal
lands such as U.S. Forest Service or
U.S. Bureau of Land Management,
inquire at the local federal office.

Railroad Access
Railroads and railroad right-of-ways are
private property and may not be hunted
without permission, nor should they be
used as access to other lands (private
or public) without explicit permission from
the railroad.

State Game Preserves
State game preserves may or may not
be open to hunting. See Areas Closed
or Limited to Hunting and/or Methods for
Big Game.

State School Trust Lands

* A $2 fee paid when you purchase your
conservation license provides hunters,
anglers and trappers access to legally
accessible State School Trust Lands.

» Overnight (2 night) camping is allowed
within 200 feet of a legal access point.
» Horses may not be kept on State School

Trust Lands overnight.

» Motorized travel is only allowed on public
roads or on roads designated as open.

» Game retrieval is by foot or horse only.

* No open fires are allowed except in
designated campground fire pits.

» Firearms may not be discharged within
one-quarter mile of an inhabited dwelling
or outbuilding without permission of the
inhabitant.

» Additional information is available from
FWP or contact DNRC at 406-444-2074.

State Wildlife Management Areas (WMA)

FWP’s Wildlife Management Areas are
generally open to hunting during the
big game hunting season. WMAs with
big game winter range are closed to
public entry, unless otherwise posted,
from the day following the end of the
general deer-elk season or December
1, whichever is later, to noon on May 15
each year, as posted.

Exception: There are several exceptions
to these guidelines. For WMA specific
information, please call the Regional
office (see page 45 for contact numbers)
or visit the FWP website at:

http://fwp.mt.gov/fishAndWildlife/wma/

Stream Access
Big game hunting between the ordinary high
water marks of streams and rivers is illegal
without adjacent landowner permission.

Tribal Land
Big Game hunting by Non-Tribal members
on Indian Reservations is prohibited
by the State of Montana unless it is
provided for in a cooperative agreement
between the Tribal Government and the
State of Montana. Check with local Tribal
Government before attempting to hunt

on an Indian Reservation. See “Contacts
Outside Montana FWP” on page 45.

License and Permit Possession

* Licenses and permits must be carried
on your person at all times while in the
field hunting.

* Licenses and permits must be produced
if requested by FWP Enforcement
personnel.

Procedures to Follow After
Harvesting an Animal

License Validation and Tagging

» Immediately after killing a game animal,
a hunter must cut out the proper month
and day of the kill from the appropriate
license and attach it to the animal in a
secure and visible manner.

« To properly validate a license (sometimes
referred to as a tag):

- the triangles denoting the month and
day the animal was killed must be
completely removed. Tearing, slicing or
punching the tag is not legal.

o z o > = = z =3 =z o &
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IMMEDIATELY UPON KILL

2. If more than one date is cut out, this tag is invalid
3. Attach tag to animal carcass in a visible manner

6 V7V 8\V9V1i0V11V12V13V14\/15V16 18 V19V20V21V22V23V24V25V26

* The properly validated license must
remain with the meat (including cold
storage) until consumed. If quartered,
the license should remain with the largest
portion of the carcass.

Evidence Required of Game Animal’s
Sex and Species

« It is illegal to possess or transport the
carcass of any big game animal unless
evidence of the animal’s sex and species
remains naturally attached to its carcass
or a portion of the carcass.

 Evidence of an animal’s sex and species
must remain naturally attached until the
carcass:

- Is at the final place of storage; or

- Is cut and wrapped in serving size; or

- Is at a commercial meat processing
facility; or

- Is at a licensed taxidermist

« If the head or antlers are removed,
evidence of sex in the form of testicles,
penis, scrotum, udder or vulva must
remain naturally attached. For example,
boned out or quartered animals need
evidence of sex naturally attached to a
portion of the meat.

27V28V29V30V 31
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Methods & Means of Hunting

Firearms
During the General Season:

* There is no rifle or handgun caliber
limitation for the taking of big game
animals.

» Muzzleloaders, shotguns, archery
equipment, and crossbows are legal.

* The possession of firearms with silencers
while afield is illegal.

Archery Equipment
During the Archery Only Season and
in archery equipment only (ArchEquip
Only) areas:

* It is unlawful to use any chemical or
explosive device attached to an arrow
to aid in the taking of wildlife.

 Lawful Archery Equipment: It is illegal
to possess, while hunting big game
during any archery only season and in
archery equipment only areas, archery
equipment that does not meet the
following criteria:

- Hunting Bow: A hunting bow for big
game shall be a longbow, flatbow,
recurve bow, compound bow, or any
combination of these designs

- The bow must be a device for launching
an arrow, which derives its propulsive
energy solely from the bending and
recovery of two limbs (includes bows
with split limbs).

- The bow must be hand drawn by a
single and direct uninterrupted pulling
action of the shooter. The bowstring
must be moved from brace height to the
full draw position by the muscle power
of the shooter’s body. The energy
used to propel the arrow shall not be
derived from any other source such
as hydraulic, pneumatic, mechanical,
or similar devices. These limitations
shall not exclude the mechanical
leverage advantage provided by
eccentric wheels or cams, so long as
the available energy stored in the bent
limbs of the bow is the sole result of a
single, continuous, and direct pulling
effort by the shooter.

The bow must be hand-held. One hand
shall hold the bow and the other hand
draw the bowstring. The bowstring
must be moved and/or held at all points
in the draw cycle entirely by muscle
power of the shooter until release. The
bowstring must be released as a direct
and conscious action of the shooter,
either relaxing the tension of the fingers
or triggering the release action of a
hand-held release aid.

Exception: Physically disabled
bowhunters certified by FWP with the
Permit To Modify Archery Equipment
(PMAE) are exempted from the
requirement of holding or shooting the
bow with their hands.

- Abow is considered legal if it is at least
28 inches in total length.

2013 Moose ¢ Sheep * Goat

-The nominal percent of let-off for
hunting bows shall be a maximum
of 80 percent. It is recognized that
variations in draw length and/or draw
weight can affect the percent of let-
off on compound bows. For these
reasons minor variations in let-off are
acceptable.

- Arrow: An arrow is a projectile at least
20 inches in overall length. The length
of the arrow is measured from the
rearward point of the nock to the tip of
the broadhead.

- A broadhead is mounted on the fore
end.

- The arrow shall weigh no less than 300
grains with the broadhead attached.

- Arrows must have broadheads with at
least two cutting edges. Expandable
broadheads are legal as long as when
expanded they are at least 7/8 inches
at the widest point, and weigh no less
than 70 grains.

The following are not considered a
hunting bow or legal archery equipment
during the Archery Only Season orin an
ArchEquip Only area or hunting district:
- Crossbow.

- Any device with a gun-type stock or
incorporating any device or mechanism
that holds the bowstring at partial or full
draw without the shooter’s muscle power.

-Any bow for which a portion of the
bow’s riser (handle) or any track,
trough, channel, or other device that
attaches directly to the bow’s riser
contacts, supports, and/or guides the
arrow from a point rearward of the
bow’s brace height. This is not intended
to restrict the use of standard overdraw
systems.

- Electronic or battery-powered devices
attached to a hunting bow.

-A bow sight or arrow which uses
artificial light, luminous chemicals such
as tritium, or electronics.

Weapons Restriction Areas

Weapons restrictions are in effect in some
hunting districts. Such restrictions are
stated in the license/permit description
and/or with a specific date range.

The following equipment restrictions
apply only to Weapons Restriction Areas:

Muzzleloader

» must not be capable of being loaded
from the breech of the barrel;

* may not be loaded with any pre-prepared
paper or metallic cartridges;

* must be charged with black powder,
pyrodex, or an equivalent;

» must be ignited by a percussion, flintlock,
matchlock, or wheelock mechanism;

* must be a minimum of .45 caliber;
* may have no more than two barrels; and

» must only use plain lead projectiles.
Sabots or other similar power and range-

enhancing manufactured loads that
enclose the projectile from the rifling or
bore of the firearm are prohibited. “Skirts”
or gas checks on the base of a projectile
are acceptable.

Traditional Handguns

» are not capable of being shoulder
mounted;

* have a barrel length of less than 10 2
inches;

» chamber only a straight wall cartridge,
not originally developed for rifles.

Shotgun

Must be a shouldered, breech-loaded or
muzzle-loaded firearm with a smooth bore
and/or rifled barrel and/or rifled choke
device designed to fire shot or slugs.

Archery

See legal archery equipment in this
section.

Crossbows

Legal in weapons restriction areas unless
exception noted in specific hunting district
regulations.

Prohibited Methods of Hunting

Airplane Spotting

« Aircraft may not be used to locate big
game animals for the purpose of:

- hunting those animals during the same
hunting day after a person has been
airborne, or

- providing information to another person
for the purpose of hunting those
animals within the same hunting day
after being airborne.

Artificial Light

Itis illegal for anyone to take or attempt
to take any game animal or game bird
with the aid of projected artificial light.

Baiting

« ltis illegal for anyone to hunt or attempt
to hunt by the aid of or with the use of
any bait, salt lick, trap, snare or set gun.

» Baiting shall mean the placing, exposing,
depositing, distributing, or scattering of
food sources or salt so as to constitute
a lure or attraction.

Dogs

Montana law states that a person may not
use dogs to hunt or chase game animals.
Dogs may be utilized to recover or locate
wounded big game.

Game Calls

Itisillegal to use a recorded or electrically
amplified game call to hunt big game.

Motion-Tracking or Camera Devices

It is illegal for a person to possess or
use in the field any electronic or camera
device whose purpose is to scout the
location of game animals or relay the
information on a game animal’s location
or movement during any Commission-
adopted hunting season.

Visit fwp.mt.gov 13
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Motorized Vehicles
It is illegal for anyone to:

* hunt or attempt to hunt any game animal
or game bird: from any self propelled
(motorized) or drawn vehicle. Even if
the vehicle is not moving, hunters must
be off or out of the vehicle. Holders of
Permit To Hunt From A Vehicle are the
exception to this.

* use a motorized vehicle or aircraft to
concentrate, drive, rally, stir-up, corral,
or harass game animals.

 operate, on public lands, a motorized
wheeled vehicle off legal routes (including
game retrieval). Contact the appropriate
land management agencies for travel
plan information.

Night Vision Equipment
It is illegal to use night vision equipment
or electronically enhanced light gathering
optics for locating or hunting game.

Public Roadways

It is illegal for anyone to hunt or attempt
to hunt any game animal or game bird:
on, from, or across any public highway
or the shoulder, berm, barrow pit or right-
of-way of any public highway (the entire
width between the boundary lines of every
publicly maintained way when any part
thereof is open to the use of the public for
purposes of vehicular travel, in the State
of Montana, as per Montana law).

Two-way Communication
Two-way electronic communication
(radios, cell phones, text messages, etc.)
may not be used to:

-hunt game animals or upland game
birds, migratory birds or furbearers as
defined in Montana law (“Hunt” means
to “pursue, shoot, wound, kill, chase,
lure, possess or capture.”), or

- avoid game checking stations or FWP
enforcement personnel, or to facilitate
illegal activity.

The rule does not prohibit the possession
or use of two-way communication for
safety or other legitimate purposes.

Waste of Game

» Hunters, or persons in possession of a
game animal or game animal parts, are
prohibited from wasting or rendering unfit
for human consumption, any part of a
game animal that is defined as “suitable
for food.”

« For big game animals (excluding mountain
lions) all of the four quarters above the
hock, including loin and backstrap are
considered suitable for food.

General Regulations

Itis illegal to:

* Party hunt: Each hunter must shoot and
tag his/her own animal.

» Use a license issued to another person.

» Carry or have physical control over a
valid and unused hunting license or
permit issued to another person while

in any location where the species to be
hunted occurs. Exception: a person may
carry or have control over a license or
permit issued to that person’s spouse or
any minor when the spouse or minor is
hunting with that person.

« Alter a license or permit for any reason.

* Post, place signs or mark state or federal
land other than that done by a state or
federal land agency.

* Interfere/hinder with the lawful taking of
a game animal.

Antler/Horn/Skull Possession
Individuals may possess, transport, sell,
or purchase naturally shed antlers, or the
antlers with a skull or portion of a skull
attached from a game animal that has
died from natural causes and that has
not been illegally or accidentally killed.
Road-killed animals have not died from
natural causes. It is illegal to possess
a bighorn sheep head/horn picked up
in the wild.

Check Stations
All hunters and anglers are required by
law to stop as directed at all designated
check stations on their way to and from
hunting and fishing areas, even if they
have no game or fish to be checked.

Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD)

* CWD has not been detected in free
ranging deer, elk, or moose in Montana.

* As of March, 2012, and because of
concerns about the introduction of CWD,
the following states and provinces have
have instituted regulations prohibiting
the import of certain deer, elk, or moose
carcass parts: Alaska, California, Florida,
Georgia, lllinois, Indiana, Kentucky,
Maine, Massachusetts, New York,
North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon,
Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Vermont,
Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming, and
the provinces of Manitoba and Ontario.

» Questions concerning carcass transport
may be directed to FWP Enforcement at
406-444-2452 or to your home state’s
wildlife division.

Furbearer Traps

« It is illegal to disturb traps or trapped
animals. Traps and trapped animals are
the property of the trap owner.

* Hunters may not shoot trapped animals.
Glandular Scents

* Natural or artificial glandular scents may
be used by licensed hunters to attract
game animals or game birds by spraying
or pouring the scent on the ground or
other objects.

» Hunters may not create a scent station
where the scent continues to be dispensed
without the hunter’s direct action, such
as an automatic device, which drips or
otherwise continues to dispense scent.

» No scents other than glandular may be
used for attracting animals, but other scents
may be used to mask human odor.

Hunter Orange Requirement
Firearm Hunters
Any person hunting or accompanying a
hunter as an outfitter or guide must wear
a minimum of 400 square inches of hunter
orange (fluorescent) material above the
waist, visible at all times (see exception
below).
Archery Hunters
A licensed bowhunter pursuing bighorn
sheep during the Archery Only Season
or in archery only hunting district is not
required to meet the hunter orange
requirement even if there is a concurrent
firearm season in that hunting district or
portion of district. However, bowhunters
hunting during any portion of the general
(firearm) season for moose, bighorn
sheep, and/or mountain goat must always
wear a minimum of 400 square inches of
hunter orange (fluorescent) above the
waist, visible at all times.

Hunting Hours

Authorized hunting hours for the taking
of big game animals begin one-half hour
before sunrise and end one-half hour after
sunset each day of the hunting season.
See the official Sunrise-Sunset tables
listed at the end of these regulations.

Incidental Harvest Resulting in an
lllegally Taken Animal

If you or a member of your hunting
party shoots an animal that results in an
illegally taken animal, you should notify
an FWP warden or 1-800-TIP-MONT
(1-800-847-6668) immediately and follow
their instructions.

-Do NOT transport the animal until
you've received instructions.

Inspection of Wildlife
Wildlife taken must be shown to FWP
enforcement for inspection when requested.

Kill Site Verification

As a condition of hunting in Montana, if
requested to do so by an FWP warden,
you are required to return to the Kkill site.

Littering

A person convicted of littering while
hunting, fishing, trapping or camping may
lose his or her license and privileges to
hunt, fish, trap, or camp within Montana
for a period of one year.

Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV):

* Examples of an OHV include but are
not limited to: motorcycles, quadricycles
(also known as 4-wheelers), dune
buggies, amphibious vehicles, air cushion
vehicles, and any other means of land
transportation deriving motive power from
any source other than muscle or wind.

* In order to operate an OHV on public
lands, the OHV must have a valid/current
registration and display an OHV decal.

» Nonresidents must register their OHV in
their home state or purchase a temporary
Off-Highway Vehicle Use permit from
Montana FWP. The permitis $5 and expires
on December 31 of the year issued.
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* OHV permits may be purchased from
some FWP License Providers, some
Vendors (such as a private OHV
dealership), or online at app.mt.gov/als.

Outfitters and Guides

It is illegal to hire an outfitter or guide
not licensed by the Department of Labor
and Industry. For information, call 406-
841-2373.

Predators and Nongame Hunting

* Predators and nongame species are
unprotected by federal and/or state
law or regulation and can be hunted in
Montana year-round without a license by
both resident and nonresident hunters.
A conservation license, or a state school
trust lands recreational use license is
required to hunt predators and nongame
species on state school trust lands.
Permission must be obtained to hunt
predators and nongame species on
private land.

Predators are classified as coyote,
weasel, (striped) skunk, and civet cat
(spotted skunk).

Nongame species are defined as
any wild animal not otherwise legally
classified by statute or regulation in
Montana. Examples include badger,
raccoon, red fox, hares, rabbits, ground
squirrels, marmots, tree squirrels,
porcupine, and prairie dog.

Furbearers are protected game species
that may only be taken by residents with
a valid trapping license during prescribed
open seasons. State classified furbearers
include beaver, otter, muskrat, mink,
marten, fisher, wolverine, bobcat, lynx,
and swift fox.

Restitution for lllegally Taken Wildlife

» Under Montana law, a person convicted,
or who was charged and forfeited bond or
bail, of illegally killing, taking, or possessing
game animals shall reimburse the state.
Current law sets the amount of restitution
for a trophy animal as:

Bighorn Sheep $30,000
Elk $ 8,000
Antlered Deer $ 8,000
Moose $ 6,000
Mountain Goat $ 6,000
Antelope b 2,000
Grizzly Bear* 8,000

(*no authorized hunting season)

» The law specifically outlines minimum
standards for a trophy under this
regulation, but authorizes the FWP
Commission to adopt more specific
criteria.

* For the purpose of assessing restitution
for illegally taken trophy wildlife
under Montana law, the following are
considered “trophy” animals:

-Antelope: With at least one horn
greater than 14 inches in length, as
measured along the outside curve from
base to tip.

2013 Moose ¢ Sheep * Goat

- Elk: Must meet all three criteria: 1) At
least six points on one antler, 2) Amain
beam length on each antler of at least
43 inches, and 3) An inside spread of
at least 36 inches.

OR
Any elk with at least one six point antler
and having a gross/green Boone &
Crockett score of 320 points or greater.

- Mule Deer: Must meet all three criteria:
1) At least four points on one antler
(excluding brow tine), 2) A main beam
length on each side of at least 21
inches, and 3) A greatest inside spread
across the main beams of at least 20
inches.

OR
Any mule deer with at least one four-
point antler and having a gross/green
Boone & Crockett score of 160 points
or greater.

- White-tailed Deer: Must meet all three
criteria: 1) At least four points on one
antler (excluding brow tine), 2) A main
beam length on each side of at least 20
inches, and 3) A greatest inside spread
across the main beams of at least 16
inches.

OR
Any white-tailed deer with at least one
four-point antler and having a gross/
green Boone & Crockett score of 140
points or greater.

» A“point” as defined in these regulations
is at least four inches long for elk and at
least one inch long for deer, measured
from base to tip. Boone & Crockett (B&C)
measuring procedures or standards
are used for criteria measurement. The
official measurements for the purpose of
this regulation are those that are taken
at the time of confiscation or seizure of
the trophy. Any B&C measurements will
be considered final when taken by an
official B&C scorer, regardless of drying
time. If the skullcap of antlers or horns
is broken in such a manner to render an
official B&C score invalid, three official
B&C scorers will estimate a score. The
three scores will be averaged and the
average score used to determine trophy
status in accordance with Montana law.

Simulated Wildlife

It is illegal to discharge a firearm or other
hunting implement at a simulated wildlife
decoy in violation of any state statute
or FWP commission rule regulating the
hunting of the wildlife being simulated.

Transport of Wildlife

* An individual other than the license
holder may transport properly tagged
animals that comply with the “Evidence
of Sex Requirements” and that were
lawfully taken by the license holder. If you
have specific questions, please contact
FWP Enforcement at 406-444-2452.

* All shippers of fish, game or nongame
birds, game animals, fur-bearing animals,
the skins of fur-bearing animals or
predatory animals, or parts thereof are

required to label all packages offered
for shipment by parcel post or common
carrier (airlines or UPS, etc.). The
label must be securely attached to the
address of the package and shall plainly
indicate the names and addresses of
the consignor and consignee and the
complete contents of the package. It is
a violation of the Federal Lacey Act to
transport an illegally taken game animal
across state boundaries.

-1t is illegal to ship, possess, or take
out of state illegally killed game, game
birds, and/or furbearers. If you are
transporting lawfully taken wildlife
(including parts and/or products of live
or dead animals) between Montana
and Canada or between the United
States and any foreign country, whether
for commercial or noncommercial
purposes, you must complete a U.S.
Fish & Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Declaration form (Form 3-177). Form
3-177 is available at all United States
customs ports and on the USFWS
website at www.fws.gov. For further
information, contact the USFWS
Wildlife Inspector at 406-335-4350.

It is unlawful to transport into Montana
the whole carcass or certain carcass
parts of white-tailed deer, mule deer,
moose or elk from states or provinces
with documented occurrences of CWD
in wild populations or on private game
farms. Those states and provinces
currently include Colorado, lllinois,
Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota,
Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, New
York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South
Dakota, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia,
Wisconsin, Wyoming, and the provinces
of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Only the following carcass parts may

be transported into Montana from those

states:

- Meat that is cut and wrapped.

- Quarters or other portions of meat with
no part of the spinal column or head
attached.

- Meat that has been boned out.

- Hides with no heads attached.

- Clean (no meat or tissue attached) skull
plates with antlers attached.

- Antlers with no meat or tissue attached.

- Upper canine teeth, also known as

“buglers”, “whistlers” or “ivories”.

- Finished head, partial body or whole
body mounts already prepared by a
taxidermist.

-Keep in mind that “Evidence of Sex
Requirements” must always be met
when transporting any of these parts
back into Montana.
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Areas Closed or Limited to Hunting
and/or Methods For Big Game

Bear Creek WMA: Refer to FS maps.

Brinkman Game Preserve: The S1/2 Section 7, and E1/2,
NE1/4 Section 7, and S1/2 Section 8, and NW 1/4 Section 8,
S1/2 Section 9, S1/2 and E1/2, NE 1/4 Section 10. All of sec-
tions 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 25, 26, 27, 28,
29, 35, 36; all in T29N, R7E, M.P.M. Liberty County.

Canyon Ferry Wildlife Management Area: Closed to
hunting of big game except as designated under hunting regu-

lations. Section 28 and 33, and W 1/2 of W 1/2 Section 34,
T8N, R2E, Sections 4, 8, W1/2 and W1/2 of the E1/2 Section
9, NW1/4 Section 16, Sections 17, 18, 19, 20 and N1/2 Sec-
tion 30, T7N, R2E, E1/2 of E1/2 Section 11, Section 12, E1/2
of NW1/4 and E1/2 Section 13 and E1/2 of E1/2 Section 24,
T7N, R1E.

East Ovando Archery-only Area: Those portions of
Powell County lying within the following described boundary:

Beginning at the junction of State Route 200 with the North
Fork of the Blackfoot River, then southwest along said river
to the Ovando-Helmville Road, then northwesterly along said
Road to Ovando and State Route 200, then easterly along
said Route to the North Fork of the Blackfoot River, the point
of beginning.

Ennis Airport Weapons Restriction Area: Ennis Air-
port WRA Boundary Description: Beginning at intersection of

Airport Rd and Hwy 287, east on Airport Rd, then continuing
east along south boundary of section 32 to the USFS bound-
ary, then north to north boundary of section 29, then west on
north boundaries of sections 29 and 30, then south on west
boundary of section 30, then west on north boundary of section
36 to Hwy 287, then south along Hwy 287 to point of beginning.

Flathead HD 170 Weapons Restriction Area: Area is
restricted to archery, shotgun, traditional handgun, muzzle-

loader, or crosshow only. That portion of Flathead County ly-
ing within the following-described boundary: Beginning at the
junction of State Route 35 and State Route 206, then northerly
along State Route 206 to US Highway 2, then westerly along
said highway onto State Route 40 to US Highway 93, then
south on said Highway to Rocky Cliff Drive, then easterly to
Demersville Road, then northerly along said road to Foys Bend
Lane, then easterly along said road onto Lower Valley Road to
the Bonneville Power Administration powerline at Foys Bend,
then northerly along said powerline across the Flathead River
to the easterly shore, then up the most easterly shore of said
river to State Route 35 (Old Highway 2 bridge), then easterly
along said route to its junction with State Route 206, the point
of the beginning.Freezout Lake Wildlife Management Area,
Teton County : As posted.

Gallatin Special Management Area (Bacon Rind and
Buffalo Horn Units) :

Bacon Rind: Those portions of Madison and Gallatin Coun-
ties lying the following boundary description: Beginning at the
confluence of Buffalo Horn Creek and the Gallatin River, then
up said river to Snow Flake Springs and the toe of Snow Flake
Ridge, then southerly along said ridge and the Sage Creek-
Monument Creek Divide, then along Sage Creek-Snowslide
Creek Divide and the Sage Creek-Bacon Rind Divide in the
Gallatin Madison Rivers Divide at Redstreak Peak, then south-
easterly along said divide to the Yellowstone National Park
boundary, then northerly along said boundary to its northwest-
ern most intersection with the Gallatin River, then down said
river to the point of beginning.

Buffalo Horn: Those portions of Gallatin County lying within
the following described boundary: Beginning at the intersec-
tion of Highway 191 and the north boundary of Yellowstone Na-
tional Park, then in a northerly direction along said boundary to
USFS trail 57 at Dailey Pass, then in a northwesterly direction
along said trail to the headwaters of the South Fork of Buffalo
Horn, then down said creek to a posted line that goes along
the south side of Cow Flats to its intersection with Buffalo Horn
Creek, then down said creek to the Gallatin River, then up said
river to Snowflake Springs and the toe of Snowflake Ridge to
its intersection with USFS Trail 151, then southeasterly along
said trail to Lodgepole Creek-Monument Creek Divide, then
easterly along said divide to Yellowstone National Park bound-
ary, then north along said boundary to the point of beginning.

Gates of the Mountains Game Preserve : Beginning in
Section 2, T12N, R3W at the southeast corner of Upper Holter
Lake, then proceeding westerly along the northern shoreline of

Areas Closed or Limited to Hunting

Upper Holter Lake in the Gates of the Mountains area located
in Lewis and Clark County, then northerly along Stoney Point
Beacon Road, then northerly along the powerline to said bea-
con, then along Bulldozer Road to the point of the ridge in Sec-
tion 23, T13 N, R3W, then northerly to the Missouri River, then
easterly across said river and lake to the USFS boundary to the
wilderness boundary, then south along wilderness boundary to
the southeast corner of Section 1, T12N, R3W, then west back
to Upper Holter Lake, the point of beginning. Intending hereby
toinclude in said game preserve all the territory adjacent of the
Gates of the Mountains area, shall be called and known as the
Gates of the Mountains Game Preserve.

Grant Kohrs Ranch near Deer Lodge: Closed to all
hunting.

Helena Valley Regulating Reservoir : The Bureau of
Reclamation Regulating Reservoir located in Sections 4, 5, 8,
9, 16 and 17, T10N, R2W in Lewis and Clark County of the
Helena Valley as posted. (This area will be open to hunting
until the opening of the waterfowl season, then it will be closed
to all hunting.)

Kuhns Wildlife Management Area: Legal description
and map available from FWP Region 1, Kalispell office 406-
752-5501.

Lake Bowdoin Migratory Waterfowl Refuge: Closed to
hunting of big game.

Lake Helena Wildlife Management Area: Closed to all
big game hunting except as deisgnated under hunting regu-
lations. Portions of the north half of Section 22 Township 11
North, Range 3 West.

Lee Metcalf Refuge: Legal description, map and regula-
tions available from the Lee Metcalf Refuge, 406-777-5552.

Libby Big Game Archery Only Hunting Area: That
Portion of Lincoln County lying within the following-described
boundary: Beginning at the junction of U.S. Highway 2 and
Port Blvd. (the old Stimpson mill site entrance) on the south
edge of Libby, then heading east on Port Blvd. to the Champion
Haul Road, across Libby Creek on said road to National Forest
Road -4813, then southerly on Road —4813 to National Forest
Road -533, the Swede Mountain Road, then southerly along
said road to the Farm-To-Market Road, then northerly along
the Farm-to-Market Road to U.S. Highway 2, then northerly
along U.S. Highway 2 to Port Blvd., the point of beginning.

Lincoln Closed Area: Closed to all big game hunting. Sec-
tion 24, T14N, ROW, shall be closed to big game hunting. This
comprises the area around the town of Lincoln.

McLean Game Preserve: SW1/4, S1/2NW1/4,
SWI1/4ANE1/4 of Section 5, T28N, R3W; S1/2, S1/2NE1/4,
W1/2NW1/4, SE1/ANW1/4 of Section 6, T28N, R3W; N1/2N1/2
of Section 7, T28N, R3W; NW1/4NW1/4 of Section 8, T28N,
R3W; N1/2 of Section 1, T28N, R4W, Pondera County.

Medicine Lake National Wildlife Refuge: Portions open
to big game hunting.

Milk River Wildlife Management Area: Hunting by ar-
chery, shotgun, traditional handgun or muzzleloader only as

posted and as described under current regulations.

Prickly Pear Valley Weapons Restriction Area: Those
portions of Lewis and Clark and Jefferson Counties lying within

the following-described boundary: Beginning at the north end
of the split median of Interstate 15, on the north boundary of
Section 31, T12N, R3W, then southerly along Interstate 15 for
approximately two miles to the north boundary of Section 5,
T11IN, R3W, then east along the north boundary of Sections 5
and 4 to Collins Drive, then south along Collins Drive to its junc-
tion with Snowdrift Road, then easterly along Snowdrift Road
until Snowdrift Road becomes Mountain Meadows Road, then
easterly along Mountain Meadows Road to a junction with
Countryside Road, then southeasterly along Countryside
Road to Hauser Lake, then southerly along the western shore
of said lake and across the entrance of the Causeway Arm,
then southerly along the south shore of the Causeway Arm to
the Causeway and Lake Helena Drive, then southerly along
said drive to US Highway 12-287, then westerly along US
Highway 12-287 to Route 518 at East Helena, then southerly
along said route to the junction with Interstate 15, then across
Interstate 15 to Montana City and the Jackson Creek Road,
then westerly along the Jackson Creek Road to its junction with
the Clark Gulch Road, then west along said route to its junction
with the Holmes Gulch Road then westerly along said route to
the national forest boundary, then northerly along the national
forest boundary along the west edge of Sections 7 and 6, TON,
R3W, then west along the south boundary of Section 36, then

north along the west boundary of Section 36, then west along
the south boundary of Section 26, then north along the west
boundary of Section 26 to LeGrande Cannon Boulevard, then
in a westerly and northerly direction along LeGrande Cannon
Boulevard to US Highway 12, then across US Highway 12 onto
County Route 602 (also known as Williams Street and then
the Birdseye Road), then northerly along said route to State
Highway 279, then easterly along State Highway 279 to its
junction with Lone Mountain Road, then northerly along said
road for two miles to the junction with Woodland Hills Road,
then east on said road to Green Meadow Road, then north
on said road to the southwest corner of Section 36, then east
along the south boundary of Section 36, then north along the
east boundary of Section 36, then east along the north bound-
ary of Section 31 to its intersection with Interstate 15, the point
of beginning.

Rookery Wildlife Management Area (as posted):
Hunting by archery, shotgun, traditional handgun or muzzle-
loader only as posted and as described under current regula-
tions.

Seeley Lake Game Preserve : Closed to all hunting. That
portion of Missoula County lying within the following-described
boundary: Beginning at a point where US Forest Service land
and private land meet next to Boy Scout Road in Section 20,
T17N, R15W, then east on the boundary between US Forest
Service and private land, then north on same boundary to the
section line between Sections 17 and 20, then east on said
section line and east on north line of Section 21, T17N, R15W
to State Route 83, then south on State Route 83 to Riverview
Drive in Section 3, T16N, R15W, then west on Riverview Drive
to Snowmass Drive in Section 9, T16N, R15W, then north on
Snowmass Drive to section line between Sections 4 and 5,
T16N, R15W, then north on said section line to Clearwater
River, then north along west shore of Clearwater River to Boy
Scout Road in Section 33, T17N, R15W, then west and north on
said road to where USFS land and private land meet next to Boy
Scout Road in Section 20, T17N, R15W, the point of beginning.

Sun River Game Preserve: Beginning at a point on the
crest of the Continental Divide of the Rocky Mountains, due
south of the head or source of the South Fork of the Sun River,
in what will be, when surveyed, Section 8, T18N of R10W,
Montana meridian, then due north from the crest of the Con-
tinental Divide to the head of the south fork of the Sun River,
then northerly along the east bank of the South Fork of the Sun
River (the eastern boundary of the Sun River Game Preserve)
to its confluence with the North Fork of the Sun River, then
northerly along the east bank of the North Fork of the Sun River
(the eastern boundary of the Sun River Game Preserve) to its
head or source, then due north to the crest of the Continental
Divide of the Rocky Mountains, then along said crest south-
westerly and southerly (the western boundary of the Sun River
Game Preserve) to the place of beginning. Intending hereby to
include in said game preserve all that territory lying between
the South Fork of the Sun River and the North Fork of the Sun
River on the east and the Continental Divide of the Rocky
Mountains on the west.

Teton-Spring Creek Cooperative Hunting Area

(TSCA), Teton County: All in T24N, R5W legally described
as: Sections 2, 3, 4, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, and W1/2 of Section 13.

Townsend Weapon Restriction Area: Beginning at the
intersection of US Highway 12 and Route 284 then northerly

along said route to its intersection with Riley Road, then west
along said road to the Canyon Ferry Wildlife Management Area
boundary fence as signed, then northerly and westerly along
said boundary fence to the end of said boundary fence in Sec-
tion 28, T8N, R2E, near Canyon Ferry Reservoir, then westerly
across said reservoir to Hahn Road, then westerly along said
road to US Highway 287, then south along said highway to its
intersection with the Kimber Guich Road, then westerly along
said road to its intersection with the railroad tracks, then south-
erly along said railroad tracks to their intersection with Spring-
ville Lane, then westerly and southerly along said lane to its in-
tersection with the Indian Creek Road, then southerly along the
west boundary of Sections 25 and 36 in T7N, R1E to the SW
corner of Section 36, then easterly along the southern bound-
ary of Section 36 and easterly along the southern boundary
of Section 31 in T7N, R2E to its intersection with US Highway
287, then southeasterly along said highway to its intersection
with Lower Deep Creek Road, then easterly along said road to
its intersection with Jack Farm Road, then northwesterly along
said road to its intersection with Cemetery Road, then east and
north along said road to its intersection with US Highway 12,
then east along said highway to its intersection with Route 284,
the point of beginning.
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Moose ¢ Bighorn Sheep ¢ Mountain Goat Drawing Statistics

The statistics on this page are from the 2012 Drawings. The final license/permit quotas may differ from the quotas reflected in the 2012 printed regulations. The quotas listed
in the printed regulations are the “proposed” quotas as adopted at the February FWP Commission meeting. The FWP Commission final-adopted quotas in July are based on
winter and spring survey efforts and are the final quotas used to complete the actual drawing. These statistics reflect combined resident and nonresident first choice districts.
These statistics do not reflect the use of bonus points or the nonresident limit of no more than 10% of the quota of licenses. For more detailed statistics on resident/nonresident
numbers and district-specific bonus point information, visit our website at fwp.mt.gov/Hunt Planner

Key:
Y LPT =License/Permit Type. The first three digits most often represent the hunting district number.

— Apps = Total number of resident and nonresident 1st-choice applicants.

— Suc = Total number of 1st-choice applicants that were successful.

% Suc = Percentage of 1st-choice applicants that were successful.
MOOSE BIGHORN SHEEP MOUNTAIN GOAT
LPT -Apps -Suc % Suc LPT -Apps -Suc % Suc LPT _Apps  —Suc % Suc LPT -Apps -Suc % Suc
100-20 364 | 12 3.30 | |315-20 208 2 0.96 100-00 214 2 0.93 100-00 541 6 111
101-20 517 | 12 2.32 | |319-20 56 2 3.57 102-00 78 1 1.28 101-00 124 2 161
102-20 | 1951 | 14 0.72 | [320-10 48 3 6.25 121-00 | 1600 4 0.25 131-00 218 2 0.92
103-20 105 3 2.86 | [320-20 335 3 0.90 121-30 26 1 3.85 132-00 108 2 1.85
104-20 101 5 4.95 |[322-20 65 2 3.08 122-00 1180 6 0.51 133-00 110 2 1.82
105-20 941 | 20 2.13 ][323-10 80 5 6.25 122-30 34 8 23.53 134-00 114 1 0.88
106-20 564 | 12 213 |[323-20 284 6 2.11 123-00 432 4 0.93 140-00 159 2 1.26
110-20 720 | 12 1.67 | |324-00 51 1 1.96 123-30 2 1 50.00 141-00 86 2 2.33
111-20 540 | 10 1.85 |[324-10 49 3 6.12 124-00 522 8 1.53 142-00 42 1 2.38
112-20 187 3 1.60 |1324-20 347 6 1.73 124-30 9 1 11.11 150-00 39 2 5.13
121-20 234 4 171 11325-20 112 2 1.79 203-00 498 5 1.00 151-00 35 1 2.86
122-20 269 4 1.49 |]326-20 116 2 1.72 203-30 60 5 8.33 240-00 436 2 0.46
125-20 112 3 2.68 |[327-20 94 3 3.19 210-00 266 2 0.75 312-00 615 8 1.30
126-20 40 1 250 | [329-20 76 2 2.63 210-30 7 2 28.57 313-00 | 2133 84 3.94
140-20 144 2 139 |]330-10 25 2 8.00 212-00 166 1 0.60 314-00 569 30 5.27
141-20 105 2 190 |1330-20 290 3 1.03 216-00 351 2 0.57 316-00 397 12 3.02
150-20 47 1 213 ||331-10 100 5 5.00 216-30 17 2 11.76 320-00 476 3 0.63
210-20 402 4 1.00 |1331-20 994 8 0.80 250-00 186 2 1.08 323-00 512 38 7.42
211-20 149 2 134 |[332-10 81 5 6.17 250-10 123 1 0.81 324-00 146 6 4.11
212-20 342 4 1.17 | |332-20 694 8 1.15 261-00 418 1 0.24 325-00 76 4 5.26
214-20 49 1 2.04 ||333-10 13 1 7.69 270-00 361 2 0.55 326-00 114 6 5.26
215-20 166 2 120 |1333-20 106 2 1.89 300-20 34 34 | 100.00 | [327-00 58 4 6.90
220-20 136 3 221 ||334-10 71 6 8.45 301-00 390 5 1.28 328-00 103 2 1.94
230-20 376 4 1.06 | |334-20 367 5 1.36 302-00 173 4 231 329-00 465 25 5.38
240-20 112 3 2.68 |[335-20 155 3 1.94 302-30 4 4 100.00 | |330-00 109 6 5.50
250-20 117 3 2.56 | |340-20 174 2 1.15 303-20 18 18 | 100.00 | [331-00 234 3 1.28
261-20 166 2 1.20 | [341-20 95 2 211 304-00 151 1 0.66 362-00 179 6 3.35
270-20 235 3 128 |]350-20 104 3 2.88 305-10 63 1 1.59 393-00 | 1057 5 0.47
280-20 57 2 3.51 ||360-20 80 2 2.50 315-00 203 1 0.49 414-00 63 1 1.59
285-20 92 2 2.17 | [361-20 139 5 3.60 421-00 74 2 2.70 415-00 108 3 2.78
291-20 40 2 5.00 | [362-20 56 3 5.36 422-00 678 4 0.59 442-00 86 1 1.16
292-20 182 3 1.65 |1380-10 57 2 351 422-30 26 1 3.85 447-00 | 1657 2 0.12
293-20 366 2 0.55 | |380-20 505 5 0.99 423-00 359 3 0.84 453-00 398 2 0.50
300-10 121 7 5.79 |[382-20 105 3 2.86 423-30 1 1 100.00 | 1460-00 914 6 0.66
300-20 977 8 0.82_ | [390-20 128 2 1.56 424-00 907 4 0.44 514-00 96 2 2.08
301-10 32 3 9.38 | |415-20 99 3 3.03 424-30 22 1 4.55 517-00 308 4 1.30
301-20 240 5 2.08 | [494-00 629 6 0.95 441-00 259 5 1.93 518-00 166 3 181
302-10 39 1 2.56 | |496-00 318 4 1.26 455-00 187 1 0.53 519-00 40 1 2.50
302-20 66 2 3.03 |[513-20 226 3 1.33 482-00 | 3718 15 0.40
303-10 34 1 2.94 ||514-20 521 4 0.77 482-30 27 10 37.04
303-20 396 3 0.76 | [516-20 120 2 1.67 482-31 22 5 22.73
304-20 66 4 6.06 | [600-00 177 2 1.13 500-20 10 10 ] 100.00
308-20 56 2 357 501-20 31 31 | 100.00
309-20 73 3 411 502-20 20 20 | 100.00
310-20 114 1 0.88 503-00 261 3 115
311-20 237 5 211 622-00 | 2159 7 0.32
312-20 323 8 0.93 622-30 15 5 33.33
313-20 110 5 4.55 680-00 | 7105 25 0.35
314-20 112 2 1.79 680-30 83 15 18.07

680-31 28 28 ] 100.00
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Bighorn Sheep Specific Information

Definition

* Adult ewe - a female bighorn sheep - one year old or older.
Lambs (young of year) are not included.

« Either sex - adult ewe or legal ram.

* Legal ram - see below.

Judging A “Legal Ram” 3/4 Curl

» When a straight line extending
from the front base of the horn
through any portion of the eye
opening intercepts any portion
of the horn, the ram is legal. If
the horn is not long enough to
be intercepted by the line, the
ram is not legal.

* Base of the horn shall be
considered as the point where
the horn meets the hairline
of the head. See illustration
below.

» Determination of a legal ram
should be made from a broadside view of the head.

» Successful applicants for bighorn sheep should contact the
department if they need the Montana Guide to Bighorn Sheep.

Licenses & General Information

* License holders may legally take one bighorn sheep subject to
all specifications on the license issued.

* |tisillegal to possess a bighorn sheep head picked up in the wild.

» There are limited and unlimited bighorn sheep licenses.

- Limited Licenses - Alimited bighorn sheep license is awarded
only through the special drawing and are designed to limit the
number of hunters in a specific hunting district(s). Hunters may
apply for one limited license area only and it must be their first
and only district choice, with the exception of an adult ewe
which may be listed as a second district choice.
= An applicant who receives a
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limited either sex or legal ram 7 Year Wait
license is not eligible to apply foror  [Year License| Year May
receive another either-sex or legal Drawn Reapply
ram bighorn sheep license for the
next succeeding seven years. 2006 2014
(see reference chart regarding 2007 2015
limited either sex or legal ram
bighorn sheep licenses). 2008 2016

= An applicant who is successful 2009 2017
in obtaining a limited ewe license 2010 2018
(first or second choice) is not 2011 2019
restricted to the seven-year
waiting period. 2012 2020

- Unlimited Licenses - Unlimited
bighorn sheep licenses have no limit on the number of licenses
sold and may be available from License Providers, including
FWP Online Licensing or, the hunter has the option of applying
by the May 1 deadline through the drawing process.

= Unlimited bighorn sheep licenses are available in districts
300, 303, 500, 501 and 502.

= An unlimited bighorn sheep license purchased through the
special drawing must be listed as your first and only district
choice.

= Unlimited bighorn sheep license districts have harvest quotas
and can close a few days after the opening date.

= Licenses are nonrefundable, and a hunter may not change
the selected hunting district even if a district closes before
the hunter has participated in a hunt.

= An applicant who receives an unlimited legal ram license
and harvests a legal ram is not eligible to receive or apply for
another bighorn sheep license for the following seven years.

Unlimited bighorn sheep hunting districts are assigned a
harvest quota. Unlimited bighorn sheep license hunting
districts will close on a 48-hour notice. When the quota is
reached or approached, the bighorn sheep season in that
district will close. Any ram harvested by a hunter will be
counted against the quota.

Current harvest information may be obtained by calling the
appropriate Fish, Wildlife & Parks Regional Headquarters
during normal business hours.

The department makes an attempt, through news releases
and back-country contacts, to inform hunters of bighorn
sheep hunting district closures. However, it is the hunter’s
responsibility to be aware of season status.

Archery Season
The Archery Only season only for limited entry bighorn sheep
hunting districts will run for 10 days prior to the start of any
district's general bighorn sheep season opener. This does not
include HD 304 or the unlimited entry districts. A Bow and Arrow
(archery) License is required.

SuperTag Lottery for Bighorn Sheep

» Resident and nonresident hunters can buy an unlimited number
of $5 chances to win a Montana hunting license for antelope,
bighorn sheep, bison, deer, elk, moose, mountain goat and/or
mountain lion.

* An individual may be successful in winning one or a combination
of these SuperTags per year.

» Each SuperTag license allows one to hunt in any Montana
hunting district valid for that species.

» The moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goat 7-year waiting
period does not apply to SuperTags.

» Chances are sold electronically at all FWP License Providers
or via the Internet.

 Proceeds from the sale of SuperTag chances will enhance public
hunting access and boost FWP enforcement efforts.

» For more information visit FWP’s website at fwp.mt.gov.

Bighorn Sheep License Auction

* Legislation authorizes the Fish, Wildlife & Parks Commission to
provide for the auction of one bighorn sheep license each year.
This license authorizes the hunter to take a “legal” or greater ram
in any open district of his/her choice. This license is not a part of
the seasons proposed, and if this license holder is successful,
the bighorn sheep will not be counted against the hunting district
quota. The license holder may only hunt in areas open to hunting
(i.e., if an unlimited area closes due to reaching the quota, the
license holder may not hunt in that area).

* The auction is held annually during the winter by a conservation
organization that is preselected by the FWP Commission.

» Hunting is authorized for the next hunting season, not the current
year’s hunting season.

» Money raised through the bighorn sheep license auction is used
for management of bighorn sheep.
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Bighorn Sheep Mandatory Reporting
and Checking Requirements

* A hunter harvesting a bighorn ram must personally present the
complete head and cape intact within 48-hours to any Fish,
Wildlife & Parks office, game warden, or designated employee
in the administrative region where the bighorn ram was taken.
See page 45 for FWP office phone numbers.

* A hunter harvesting a bighorn sheep with a license valid for a
“legal ram” must not alter the head and horns so as to affect
determination of legality.

* Bighorn ram horns greater than one-half curl must be plugged
or pinned at any Fish, Wildlife & Parks office within 10 days after
harvest. A listing of designated personnel and phone numbers
will be provided to all bighorn sheep license holders.

Bighorn Sheep HD Regulations

Residents are eligible to apply for any of the following licenses.
Nonresidents are restricted to certain districts. Nonresidents are
limited to, but not guaranteed 10 percent of a region’s quota.
Districts where nonresidents may apply are listed on the moose,
bighorn sheep and mountain goat nonresident application, but
may change when final quotas are set in July.

--- HD 100 Kootenai Falls ---

100-00: 2 licenses.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01

— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.
--- HD 101 Ural-Tweed ---
- CLOSED.
--- HD 102 Galton Range ---

102-00:  1license.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01

— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.

--- HD 121 North Clark Fork ---

121-00:  1license.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
¢ Sept 15 - Dec 01

— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.
--- HD 122 Clark Fork Cut-Off ---
122-00: 6 licenses.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01
122-30:  8licenses.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01

— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.

— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep.
--- HD 123 Cabinet Mountains ---
123-00:  4licenses.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01
123-30:  1license.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01

— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.

— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
- Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep.
--- HD 124 Paradise ---

124-00:  8licenses.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01
124-30:  1license.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
¢ Sept 15 - Dec 01

— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.

— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep.
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--- HD 203 Grave Creek Range ---
203-00: 5 licenses.

* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01
203-30: 5 licenses.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
+ Sept 15 - Dec 01

— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.

— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep.
--- HD 210 John Long Range ---
210-00: 2 licenses.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
¢ Sept 15 - Dec 01
210-30: 2 licenses.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01

— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
- Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.

— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep.
--- HD 212 Garrison ---

Note: Bighorn Sheep numbers have been reduced and are uncertain
due to recent disease die-off event.

212-00:  1license.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14 - Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
*Sept15-Dec 01 - Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.
--- HD 213 South Flint Range ---
- CLOSED.

--- HD 216 West Rock Creek-Quigg Peak ---
216-00: 2 licenses.

* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Oct 31
216-30: 2 licenses.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Oct 31

— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
- Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.

— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Adult Ewe Bighorn Sheep.

--- HD 250 West Fork Bitterroot ---
250-00: 2 licenses. Valid in portion of HD south of Nez Perce Rd and West Fork Rd.

*Sept 05 - Sept 14 - Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
* Sept 15 - Dec 01 Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.

250-10: 1 license.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01

Legal ram Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
Legal ram Bighorn Sheep.
--- HD 261 Skalkaho ---

261-00: 1 license. @
* Sept 05 - Sept 14— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season. g
*Sept15-Dec 01 - Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. 2

--- HD 270 East Fork Bitterroot --- S
Note: Bighorn Sheep numbers have been reduced due to a recent {92
disease die-off event. (‘:Dr
270-00: 2 licenses. D
*Sept 05 - Sept 14 - Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season. [=
*Sept 15-Dec 01 - Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.

--- HD 283 Lower Blackfoot ---
- CLOSED.

--- HD 300 Gallatin-Yellowstone ---
Unlimited Bighorn Sheep License. Purchase or apply by May 1.

300-20:  Unlim licenses.

*Sept01 - Sept 10 - Legal ram Bighorn Sheep. Harvest quota = 2.*

*Any person harvesting a Bighorn Sheep in this Hunting District must
personally call the Harvest Reporting Line at 1-877-FWP-WILD (397-

9453) or 406-444-0356 within 48 hours of the kill. For Quota Status call
1-800-385-7826 or 406-444-0356.

--- HD 301 Spanish Peaks ---
301-00: 5 licenses.
* Sept 05 - Sept 14
* Sept 15 - Dec 01

— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep. Archery Only Season.
— Either-sex Bighorn Sheep.
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Obtain A License Or Permit

» Only one license or permit of any type
may be purchased each year, unless
otherwise specified and allowed in
the regulations, such as a hunter may
purchase more than one deer B license.

*» Many licenses or permits may be
purchased from license providers or
online licensing. Some licenses and
permits are available only through a
special drawing.

* Refer to the Licenses Available Chart
for a complete list of resident and
nonresident licenses and application or
purchase deadlines.

Online Licensing

* You may apply for special permits and/
or licenses and purchase many general
hunting licenses from FWP Online
Licensing between approximately 5:15
a.m.and 11:45 p.m., MST, 7 days a week
within applicable sales dates.

» Go to https://app.mt.gov/Als/Index
and follow the instructions.

* Online purchases must be made by
using a MasterCard or Visa credit card.

* Montana residents must have purchased
a conservation license through the
automated licensing system (ALS) in a
previous license year and have an ALS
number to buy licenses online. See
Residency.

» Don’t wait until the last minute to buy
your hunting license online as carcass
tags are mailed to you within 10 days of
your purchase.

« All online license purchases and
applications are final, and cannot be
changed or withdrawn.

Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact
(IWwVC)

Montana is a member of the IWVC.
Under the compact, member states
recognize suspensions of hunting, fishing
or trapping privileges. It is illegal for a
violator whose privilege to hunt, fish or
trap is suspended to obtain or attempt
to obtain a license, tag or permit in a
member state. For more information, call
406-444-2452.

* ltisillegal to swear to or to affirm a false
statement in order to obtain an original or
duplicate resident hunting and/or fishing
license OR to assist an unqualified
applicant in obtaining a resident license.

Resident

* To be a legal Montana resident and
eligible to purchase any Montana
resident fishing, hunting, and trapping
licenses, as per MCA 87-2-102, you
must:

- have been physically living in Montana
for at least 180 consecutive days
immediately prior to purchasing a
resident license;
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- register your vehicle(s) in Montana;

- be registered to vote in Montana if
you're registered to vote at all;

- not possess (or have applied for) any
current resident hunting, fishing, or
trapping privileges in another state or
country;

- file Montana state income tax returns
as aresident, if you are required to file.

Once you have established your
residency, you must continue to meet
all these requirements and physically
reside in Montana as your principal or
primary place of abode for not less than
120 days per year (days need not be
consecutive).

Apersonis NOT considered a resident for
the purposes of this section if the person:

- claims residence in any other state or
country for any purpose; or
- is an absentee property owner paying
property tax on property in Montana.
To purchase an annual resident
conservation license you will be required
to show a valid Montana Driver’s License
(MDL), a valid Montana Identification Card
(MIC) or a valid Tribal Identification Card.

If your MDL or MIC was issued less than
six months ago, you may be required to
show additional proof of residency. An
out-of-state driver’s license is NOT an
acceptable form of ID for resident license
purchases. Contact your local FWP office
for specifics.

Nonresident

* Montana’s nonresident guests are
eligible to purchase or apply for most
Montana fishing, hunting, and trapping
licenses. By state law, nonresidents are
limited to, but not guaranteed, 10 percent
of the special license and/or permit quota
for a district. The Licenses Available
Chart provides details.

Nonresident unmarried minors, at least
12 but not older than 17 years of age,
can hunt in Montana as a resident if
the minor’s parents, legal guardian, or
parent with joint custody, sole custody,
or visitation rights is a legal resident of
Montana.

Armed Forces

» A member of the regular armed forces
of the United States, a member’s
dependent who resides in the member’s
Montana household, or a member of the
armed forces of a foreign government
attached to the regular armed forces
of the United States is considered a
resident for Montana hunting, fishing and
trapping licenses if:

- the member was a resident of Montana
under the provisions listed under
residency at the time the member
entered the armed forces and continues
to meet these residency criteria; or,

-the member is currently stationed
in and assigned to active duty in
Montana, has resided in Montana for

a least 30 days, and presents official
assignment orders and a certificate
verifying successful completion of an
approved hunter safety course from
any state or province.

Conservation License

» Each license year, a new Conservation
License is required to purchase any
fishing, trapping or hunting license(s),
or to apply for special licenses/permits.
Most licenses can be purchased from
any FWP License Provider beginning
mid January. The Montana license year
begins on March 1 and runs through the
last day of February.

In compliance with the Federal Welfare
Reform Laws, Montana law requires
each resident and nonresident hunter,
including youth, to provide the last
four digits of his/her Social Security
number when purchasing a Conservation
License or obtaining a Conservation
License through special drawings.

Hunting Access Enhancement Fee
This is an annual fee and will be charged
at the time the hunter purchases his/her
first hunting license (including upland
and migratory bird).

Hunter Education Requirements

* If you were born after January 1, 1985,
you are required to show proof of
completing a Montana hunter safety
and education course or an approved
hunter safety course from any other
state or province prior to applying for or
purchasing a hunting license, whether
the hunting license is for the rifle or
archery season.

Bow and Arrow License
Requirements

* Abow and arrow license, plus the proper
hunting license is required during the
bighorn sheep Archery Only Season.

Bowhunter Education Requirements

* To purchase a Montana bow and arrow
license, a hunter must:

-Provide a certificate of completing
the National Bowhunter Education
Foundation course, or

- Provide any prior year’s bowhunting/
archery stamp, tag, permit, or license
from any state or province. If you can
no longer produce this license, for a $5
fee you may sign an affidavit stating that
you previously held such a license. The
affidavit is available at all FWP License
Providers. The affidavit entitles you to
purchase a current year’s Montana bow
and arrow license.

» Duplicates — Montana certificates of
completion for the Montana hunter
education and/or bowhunter education
courses may be obtained from FWP’s
website at fwp.mt.gov.
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License Type

Conservation License
Prerequisite for all resident and
nonresident licenses. It includes the state
lands recreation license which is required
for hunting, fishing and trapping purposes
on State School Trust Lands.

General License

There are no general licenses
available for moose, sheep or goat.
Resident general licenses for other
species may be purchased from any
FWP License Provider or online at
fwp.mt.gov. They are available to all
residents and may be used throughout
the state according to the regulations.
Nonresidents may apply for/purchase
certain general licenses specified for
nonresidents in the Licenses Available
Chart. Please refer to the hunting district
regulations to see how, when and where
a general license may be used in each
hunting district or portion of a hunting
district.

Hunting License

A hunting license authorizes the holder
to hunt the species identified on the
license according to the regulations.

* Some licenses are valid only in a
portion or portions of a hunting district.
Carefully review the legal description of
the district for which you are applying.
A copy of the “portion of district” legal
description is available: online at
fwp.mt.gov, click on “hunt planner”; OR
by mail from the FWP Wildlife Division,
PO Box 200701, Helena, MT 59620-
0701, or email fwpwld@mt.gov.

Replacements

Replacements of lost, stolen or destroyed
licenses may be purchased at FWP
offices and FWP License Providers. A
second duplicate license for the same
species within a two-year period may only
be purchased at an FWP office. Aperson
may not replace a license requiring a
carcass tag a third time for the same
species within a two-year period. A fee
of $5 per license will be charged for each
duplicate license.

It is unlawful to:

- Swear or affirm to a false statement in
order to obtain a duplicate.

-Possess an original as well as a
duplicate license(s). If the original is
found, it must be returned to FWP at
any regional or area resource office.

- Allow a license of any type to be used
by another person.

Special License

* A special license is generally available
through the special drawing process.
It allows you to hunt in an otherwise
restricted area, time period or for a
restricted species, usually for a specific
sex and age class of animal.

Unlimited Bighorn Sheep Over-the-
Counter License

* Certain bighorn sheep licenses with
unlimited quotas are available for
purchase over-the-counter from License
Providers or via the special drawing.

* The license purchase deadline is May 1.

* If you purchase an unlimited over-the-
counter license, you cannot apply for
the same species through the special
drawing process.

SuperTag Lottery

Open to residents and nonresidents.

Deadline to
Purchase SuperTag
Chances @ $5 each

Species

Bighorn Sheep
Moose
Mountain Goat
Antelope
Bison

Deer

Elk

July 5

Mountain Lion

* Resident and nonresident hunters can
buy an unlimited number of $5 chances
to win a Montana hunting license for
antelope, bighorn sheep, bison, deer, elk,
moose, mountain goat and/or mountain
lion.

* An individual may be successful in
winning one or a combination of these
SuperTags per year.

» Each SuperTag license allows the hunter
to hunt in any Montana hunting district
valid for that species.

» The moose, bighorn sheep and mountain
goat 7-year waiting period does not apply
to SuperTags.

 Chances are sold electronically at all FWP
License Providers or via the Internet.

* Proceeds from the sale of SuperTag
chances will enhance public hunting
access and boost FWP enforcement
efforts.

» For more information visit FWP’s website
at fwp.mt.qgov.

Availability of Licenses & Permits

You can purchase your fishing
license, hunting licenses(s) and

apply for special drawings online
https://app.mt.gov/Als/Index

Drawing Applications and Deadlines

» Resident moose, bighorn sheep and
mountain goat (MSG) applications are
available at FWP License Providers
or may be downloaded from the FWP

website at fwp.mt.gov.

» Nonresidents may download an MSG
application from the FWP website or may
call 406-444-2950 to request an MSG
application through the mail.

FWP_encourages hunters to apply for
special permits/licenses online because
safequards will not accept incomplete

applications. Also, your information is
retained for future purchases or license
applications.

You may enter your application online,
have it entered directly into the system
at an FWP office, or you may mail in
your application. If the MSG application
is mailed, it must be postmarked on or
before May 1. The postmark must be
an official U.S. Postal Service mark.
A postage meter postmark cannot be
accepted.

Both resident and nonresident hunters
are eligible to apply for most of the
licenses awarded through the special
drawings. By state law, nonresidents
are limited to, but not guaranteed, 10
percent of the special license and/or
permit quota.

Drawings are based upon the final quotas
adopted by the FWP Commission, which
may differ from the quotas listed in the
hunting district regulations.

For specific license/permit opportunities,
please refer to the hunting district
(HD) regulations where you will find a
complete listing of all available hunting
opportunities for each HD.

The fee to participate in the voluntary
bonus-point system is $2 for Montana
residents and $20 for nonresidents,
payable with the license and application
fees. You must pay the fee when applying
to use or gain bonus points.

* Here’s how it works:

- Applicants accumulate one bonus
point for each unsuccessful year. The
bonus points essentially become extra
chances in future drawings. Bonus
points are squared, and you would get
that many extra chances. For example,
applicants would have one chance to
be drawn the first year they apply. If
unsuccessful, they would have two
chances to be drawn the following year
and five chances the next year, and
so on until they received the license.
Once successful, the applicant loses
all bonus points for that species.

Bonus points are accumulated
independently for each species and
only apply to “first—choice” districts. An
applicant may skip two consecutive
years of participation without forfeiting
accumulated points, but if an applicant
skips the third year—or has errors
that eliminate the applicant from the
drawing—all accumulated points for
that species will be lost. There is an
exemption for Montana residents with
full-time active military status.
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* Rejection of an application because of
applicant error is equivalent to failure
to apply.

* Points are non-transferable.

 Applicants cannot apply just for a bonus
point. You must apply correctly for the
license and be unsuccessful in drawing

Special Drawing Results

Dates are approximate

Species

Drawing Results Refunds Mailed

that license, in order to get a bonus point. Moose, bighorn sheep, mountain goat | Third week of June End of June
* FWP will contact bonus-point participants

each year by postcard to report their . .

accumulated points. Bonus-point status SuperTags for: Moose, bighorn sheep, After July 16 NA

is also available online. It will be the
applicant’s responsibility to report AND
provide proof of any discrepancies.

- If you should have, but did not receive
this postcard, and wish to participate
in the bonus point system, please call
Special Licensing at 406-444-2950.

Fees and Refunds

licenses and permits for hunters with
disabilities contact any FWP office or
check the FWP website at fwp.mt.gov.

mountain goat

Check for drawing results at fwp.mt.gov

Youth Hunter

Age | Available To Opportunities and Special Requirements
* In addition to the cost of each permit A youth 11 years of age who will reach 12 years of age by

or Iicgnse, there is a $5 nonrefundablg January 16, 2014, may:

drawing fee for each license or permit - Purchase a hunting license, except spring turkey and spring

you apply for. The $5 fee covers the black bear, and must be able to show proof of having completed

cost of printing and processing the Resident & | an approved hunter education course at the time of purchase.
application. 1 Nonresident | « Applv f ial drawi t ing turk d ¢
. In some situations. EWP mayv refund pply for any special drawing, except spring turkey, and mus
> ) mnay ! be able to show proof of having completed an approved hunter
resident or nonresident — in full or in education course at the time of application.

part — fees for licenses and/or special After A 15 2013. h ies f hich thei

drawings. * After August 15, 2013, hunt any game species for which their
h iate d tation (death license is valid during an open season.

- The appropriate documentation (dea In order to carry or use a firearm in public, a youth under 14
certificate, medical statement, etc.) f th ied b havi h
must accompany the unused license(s) . years of age must be accompanied by a person having charge or
and a signed request form certifying 12-13| Resident & |custody of the child; OR be under the supervision of a qualified
the license(s) has not been used. Nonresident |firearms safety instructor or an adult 18 years of age or older
Nonresident license holders should call who has been authorized by the youth’s parent or guardian, as
406-444-2950 for information. per Montana law.

- Situations include: _ A youth who has successfully completed a hunter safety and
Reason Deadline Refund 12-17| Resident gducatlor) course, andis purphasmg h|§/her first Montana hunt_lng
Death of licensee 12/31/13 100% Only license, is entitled to receive a Resident Youth Combination
Death of family Sports License free-of-charge.

member 12/31/13 90% Resident A youth 14 years of age who purchases a discounted (due to
Medical emergency 12/31/13 90% | 14 onl age) general deer or elk license, may use the license throughout
Call Special Licensing at 406-444-2950 y the season, even if he/she turns 15 before or during the season.
. : : Nonresident Youth Big Game Combination Licenses will be sold
lrfe%onlé c\’/?itr?i%t zr?é:evlvveeeﬁ/guorf ltli?ﬁgsﬁocr)r: for $474.50 beginning March 1 to nonresident youth who have
refund dates. Note: the license fee (but an adultimmediate-family member sponsor (applicant’s natural

not the $5 nonrefundable drawing fee) is or adoptive parent, grandparent, brother or sister who is 18

refunded if an applicant is unsugcess)fm 12-17| Nonresident |years of age or older and possesses a current resident deer or

in the drawings, unless there is a valid Only elk license or a nonresident big game, elk or deer combination
obligation owed to the State of Montana license). The youth must be accompanied by the sponsor while
or if the refund is less than $5. hunting. Applications are available from FWP’s website and
- For additional information on special may be processed at any FWP Office. For further details and
drawings for big game hunting. an application, contact Licensing at 406-444-2950
» For applications, detailed eligibility
requirements, and information on L inte h 2 Dicah

Resident With a Disability Conservation License

* Residents certified as permanently and substantially disabled, as defined by FWP
rules, may purchase a conservation license for $8, which includes fishing, upland game
bird (excluding turkey), state waterfowl, and state lands recreational use (required for
hunting, fishing and trapping purposes) licenses.

» The license holder may also purchase a general deer and general elk license at a
discounted price. Applications for a Resident With a Disability Conservation License
are available at all FWP offices and FWP website.

» The certification is valid for the life of the holder or until changed by the Montana
Legislature.
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Permit To Hunt From a Vehicle (PTHFV)

* Residents and nonresidents certified as permanently and
substantially non-ambulatory, as defined by FWP rules, may
apply for a PTHFV.

» Specific PTHFV field regulations apply. A copy of these
regulations will be provided at the time of certification.
Noncompliance may result in loss of this privilege.

Permit To Modify Archery Equipment (PTMAE)

* Residents and nonresidents certified as permanently and
substantially disabled, as defined by FWP rules, may apply for
a PTMAE. The PTMAE allows a person with a disability to use
archery tackle that supports the bow, and draws, holds, and
releases the string to accommodate the individual disability.

» Arrows are not exempt, and must meet requirements for the
Archery Only Season.

» This permit does not entitle the holder to use a crossbow
during the Archery Only Season.

* The permit only allows modification of legal archery tackle
and must be used with a valid bow and arrow license and
appropriate hunting license.

General Information

Block Management

The Block Management Program is a public hunting access
program in which FWP enters into contractual agreements
with private landowners (and sometimes public land
management agencies) about how free public hunting access
will be permitted and managed on enrolled lands. Through the
contractual agreement, a private landowner agrees to allow
public hunting on enrolled lands under specified conditions,
and FWP agrees to assist the landowner by enforcing the
ranch rules adopted through the Block Management contract.
Each FWP region annually publishes a regional Hunting Access
Guide by August 15th that lists the Block Management Areas
(BMAs) enrolled for that year and explains how to gain access
to them. For general information about the program, contact
FWP at (406) 444-2602.

Common Sense Precautions When Field-Dressing
Big Game —
* It is wise to review the proper ways to handle wild meat:

- Wear rubber (latex) gloves when field dressing game.

- Minimize contact with animal fluids and brain and spinal
tissues.

-Wash hands and instruments thoroughly after field
dressing or processing.

» Cook all meat until well done before consuming.

Harvest Survey
Montana FWP conducts an annual telephone survey to gather
hunting and harvest information from Montana hunters. Wildlife
managers use the results to help evaluate hunting seasons and
set quotas, season dates and other regulations.

Tapeworm: Protect your Pets
Domestic dogs can pick up a parasite (Echinococcus
granulosus) by eating carcasses or organs from infected deer,
elk or moose. The domestic dog can then pass it to humans
in its feces. If your dog does have access to carcasses, talk
to your veterinarian about an appropriate deworming strategy.

Weed Control and Weed-Free Hay
Montana requires use of certified weed-free hay, grain, straw,
mulch, cubes, and pelletized feed on federal lands.

If you or someone
you know has a
disability and/or
is aging, and is in
need of assistive
technology (AT)
or adaptive
equipment to help
you participate

in outdoor
recreation, please
contact

MonTech at the University of Montana Rural Institute
700 SW Higgins Ave — Ste 250

Missoula MT 59803.

877-243-5511.

http://montech.ruralinstitute.umt.edu/

Your PassioRigm.

Our Profession.

You live to hunt Montana’s elk, deer, and antelope.
That’s your passion.

We dedicate ourselves to working with landowners
and managing and conserving Montana'’s elk, deer,
antelope, and other wildlife populations.
That’s our profession.

Together, hunters, landowners, and FWP can keep
Montana'’s big game and other wildlife populations
healthy, sustainable, and accessible.

N Montana Fist,
| Wildlife (R, Parks

This message brought to you by Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks: Working to manage and conserve Montana's treasured wildlife.
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Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks State Headquarters
1420 East 6th Avenue, PO Box 200701,

Helena, MT 59620-0701 ......

Harvest Reporting ....

........................ 406-444-2535
1-877-FWP-WILD or 1-877-397-9453
........................ 406-444-0356

Quota Status ................... 1-800-385-7826 or 406-444-0356

Hunter Education......................

Wildlife ..................
Enforcement
Montana State Parks

........................ 406-444-9948

....406-444-2612
...406-444-2452
406-444-3750

Deer, elk, antelope,moose, bighorn sheep,

mountain goat, and all special drawings......406-444-2950
Resident and nonresident licensing for

fishing, upland game birds, migratory birds,

black bear, and mountain lion
Telephone Device for the Deaf

...406-444-2535

e 40B-444-1200

Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks Regional Headquarters

REGION 1

490 N Meridian Rd
Kalispell, MT 59901
406-752-5501

REGION 2

3201 Spurgin Rd
Missoula, MT 59804
406-542-5500

REGION 3

1400 South 19" Ave

Bozeman, MT 59718-
5496

406-994-4042

HELENA Area Resource
Office (HARO)

930 Custer Ave W

Helena, MT 59620

406-495-3260

BUTTE Area Resource
Office (BARO)

1820 Meadowlark Ln

Butte, MT 59701

406-494-1953

REGION 4

4600 Giant Springs Rd
Great Falls, MT 59405
406-454-5840
LEWISTOWN Area

Resource Office (LARO)
215 W Aztec Dr
PO Box 938
Lewistown, MT 59457
406-538-4658

REGION 5

2300 Lake Elmo Dr
Billings, MT 59105
406-247-2940

REGION 6

54078 US Hwy 2 W
Glasgow, MT 59230
406-228-3700

HAVRE Area Resource
Office (HVARO)
2165 Hwy 2 East
Havre, MT 59501
406-265-6177

REGION 7

352 1-94 Business Loop
PO Box 1630

Miles City, MT 59301
406-234-0900

Contacts Outside Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks

Montana State Agencies
Agriculture
406-444-3144
Guides & Outfitters
406-841-2373
Livestock
406-444-7323
State Lands (DNRC)
406-444-2074
Tourism
406-841-2870

Federal Agencies
US Department of Interior
202-208-3100
USDI Fish & Wildlife Service
406-449-5225
USDA Forest Service
406-329-3511

2013 Moose ¢ Sheep * Goat

Federal Agencies continued
USDI Bureau of Land Management

406-896-5000
National Weather Service

406-329-4840 (Missoula)
Tribal Lands

Blackfeet Reservation
406-338-7276

Crow Reservation
406-638-2179

Flathead Reservation
406-883-2888 ext 7200

Fort Belknap
406-353-2205

Fort Peck Reservation
406-768-5305

Northern Cheyenne Reservation
406-477-6526

Rocky Boy Reservation
406-395-4207

]\/‘ '. .1 11(W HJ””WQ
KEEPING YOU INFORMED.

Subscribe to Montana Outdoors today!

Get the latest information on Montana’s fish and wildlife
management in Montana Outdoors. Published by Montana
Fish, Wildlife & Parks, this full-color magazine is packed with
information that puts you on the inside track of Montana’s
major issues: elk management, hunting land
access, poaching rings, and much more.

One year $
(six issues) only

Call 800-678-6668

Or subscribe online at
fwp.mt.gov/mtoutdoors

Montana Qutdoors|
PUBLIC

Year-round and statewide, poachers
are taking Montana’s biggest and best
game animals. Poaching is illegal. And
it robs law-abiding hunters of hunting
opportunities.

FWP game wardens have broken major
poaching rings recently. TIP-MONT
callers have increased the effectiveness
of our warden’s ability to protect Mon-
tana’s resources. With your help, we
can reduce poaching.

Malke the call:
1-800-TIP-MONT
*

1-800-847-6668

24 Hours a day, 7 days a week

Take Responsibility. Make the Call.

Visit fwp.mt.gov 45
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2013 LICENSE TYPE

Resident NonResident

DEADLINE

NOTES

COST COST
Required prerequisite license.
Conservation $8.00 $10.00 Residents aged 12 -14 and 62 & older; includes free season fishing,
upland game bird (excluding turkey) and state migratory bird licenses.
Antelope (900 Archery) — Drawing | $19.00 $205.00 June 1*
Special disabled antelope drawing application required.
Antelope Disabled — Drawing $19.00 $205.00 June 1* For information call (406) 444-2950. Must have a current
conservation license to apply.
Antelope — Drawing $19.00 $205.00 June 1* Must have a current conservation license to apply.
Big Game Combination — General $959.00 March 15¢ Includes conservation, deer, elk, state lands, upland bird
Drawing ) (excluding turkey), season fishing & HAEF licenses.
Sales begin March 1. Includes conservation, deer, elk, state
Big Game Combo Youth (12 to 17) $474.50 lands, upland bird (excluding turkey) & season fishing licenses.
For information call (406) 444-2950.
Residents will have to pay an additional $50 if successful. See
Bighorn Sheep - Drawing $80.00 $755.00 May 1* Moose/Sheep/Goat regulations for details. Must have a current
conservation license to apply.
There is a $5.00 drawing fee required with the application. The
Bison - Drawing $125 $750 May 1* license cost is paid if successful in the drawing. Must have a
current conservation license to apply.
Spring - April 14 | Can purchase after deadline dates, but then there is a 5-day wait
Black Bear $19.00 $350.00 Fall - August 31 | period to use license.
Bow and Arrow $10.00 $10.00
Certification required for nonresident students attending a Montana
College Student Combination $70.00 college full-time. For information call (406) 444-2950. Available at an
FWP office after September 9.
Combat Disabled Veteran - $7.00 $100.00 50 licenses - handled thru Helena Licensing only - For
Antelope ‘ ' information call (406) 444-2950.
Combat Disabled Veteran — Deer, $8.00 $125.00 50 licenses - handled thru Helena Licensing only - For
General ' ’ information call (406) 444-2950.
: 50 licenses - handled thru Helena Licensing only - For
Combat Disabled Veteran—DeerB |  $5.00 $37.50 information call (406) 444-2950.
Coming Home to Hunt — Deer $570.00 March 15* Includes conservation, deer, state lands, upland bird (excluding turkey),
Combination ' season fishing & HAEF. For information call (406) 444-2950.
Coming Home to Hunt — Big $959.00 March 15¢ Includes conservation, deer, elk, state lands, upland bird (excluding
Game Combination : turkey), season fishing & HAEF. For information call (406) 444-2950.
Deer - General $16.00
Deer — General, Disabled $6.50
Deer — General, Senior $10.00
Deer — General, Youth (12 - 14) $6.50
Deer B - Over-the-Counter and $10.00 $75.00 Over-the-counter - valid in specific district(s). Purchase
Single-Region Antlerless ' ) beginning August 5.
Deer B - Drawing $15.00 $80.00 June 1*
Deer Combination — General . Includes conservation, deer, state lands, upland bird (excluding
Drawing $570.00 March 15" 4,rkey), season fishing & HAEF
Deer Combination — Landowner $570.00 March 15* Includes conservation, deer, state lands, upland bird (excluding
Sponsored Drawing : turkey), season fishing & HAEF
Deer Permit — Drawing $5.00 $5.00 March 15* | Drawing fee only - must be used with general deer license.
: A (1 Includes free upland bird (excluding turkey), season fishing &
Disabled Conservation License $8.00 e
Elk — General $20.00
Elk — General, Disabled $8.00
Elk — General, Senior - (62 +) $12.00
Elk — General, Youth (12 - 14) $8.00
Elk B License — Drawing $25.00 $278.00 June 1* Antlerless only.
EIk B License — Over-The-Counter | $20.00 $273.00 Antlerless only - over-the-counter - valid in specific district(s).

Key:

Purchase beginning August 5.

* = Must be postmarked on or before deadline date.

** = Must be received by 5 pm. MST on deadline date.
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2013 LICENSE TYPE

Resident NonResident

COST

COST

DEADLINE

Includes conservation, elk, state lands, upland bird (excluding

Elk Combination — Drawing $809.00 March 15* turkey), season fishing & HAEF,
Residents must have current year general elk license to apply.
Elk Permit — Drawing $9.00 $9.00 March 15* | Nonresidents must also apply for an elk license when applyimg
for a permit. A permit must be used with a general elk license.
Hound Training License $5.00
Hunting Access Enhancement $2.00 $10.00 Annual fee charged when hunter purchases first hunting license
Fee (HAEF) ' i each year.
. : Need a conservation license. Federal Stamp is not required.
Migratory Bird - (12 - 15) FREE $35.00 Nonresident includes an Upland Bird License.
Migratory Bird — (16 - 61) $6.50 $50.00 Federal Stamp also required.
Migratory Bird — (62 and older) FREE $50.00 Need a conservation license. Federal Stamp also required.

q Residents will have to pay additional $50 if successful in the
9i0ste = Dl $80.00 $755.00 ey 1 drawing. See Moose/Sheep/Goat regulations for details.
Montana-Born Relative

—Bird License | $30.00 For former resident with current resident relative; other
— Deer License $60.00 qualifications apply. For information call (406) 444-2950
- Elk License $80.00
; ; $755.00 Residents will have to pay additional $50 if successful in the
U Gl = D] $80.00 iy 1 drawing. See Moose*SheepGoat regulations for details.
_— ; Can purchase after deadline date, but then there is a 5-day wait
Mountain Lion - General License | $19.00 $320 August 31 period to use the license.
Mountain Lion Special License — $320 Drawing fee is only $5.00. The license cost must be paid if
Limited Entry — Drawing $19.00 Bl successful in the drawing.
Mountain Lion - Trophy $50.00 $50.00 Must be purchased after mountain lion kill.
Off-Highway Temporary Use Decal $5.00
Sandhill Crane — Drawing $5.00 $5.00 July 25** | Cost is the drawing fee only.
Must go through certification process at FWP offices - includes
Sportsman - Military Recognition | $2.00 conservation, season fishing, State lands, upland bird (excluding
turkey), deer & elk. $2.00 fee is for HAEF.
. Includes conservation, deer, elk, bear, state lands, upland bird
Sportsman with Bear $85.00 (excluding turkey) & season fishing.
: Includes conservation, deer, elk, state lands, upland bird
Sportsman without Bear $70.00 (excluding turkey) & season fishing.
Sportsman without Bear $25.00 Includes conservation, deer, elk, state lands, upland bird
- (Youth - 12 - 17) ) (excluding turkey) season fishing.
: For first-time ever hunting license after completion of Hunter
\S(ggtrﬁsgg? \1N7|;£hout Il FREE Education course. Includes conservation, deer, elk, state lands,
upland bird (excluding turkey) & season fishing licenses.
State Lands Recreational ) )
License (12-17) | $5.00 Required for recreational use on state school trust lands. The State
- Lands Recreation License is included in the Montana Conservation
(18-59) | $10.00 License specifically for the purpose of hunting, fishing, and/or
(60 +) $5.00 trapping (HFT). All other recreational use on state school trust lands
. requires this State Lands Recreation License.
(Family) | $20.00
Swan Drawing $5.00 $5.00 Sept 5** Cost is drawing fee only.
: If nonresident has already purchased an Upland Bird license,
Turkey General License $6.50 $115.00 then turkey licenses are $55 each.
; ; Spring-March 7* | Drawing fee only - if successful in the drawing, need to purchase
Turkey Permit - Drawing $5.00 $5.00 Fall - July 25*  |turkey license and upland game bird license.
Upland Bird $7.50 $110.00
Upland Bird - (Youth 15 - 17) $3.00
Upland Bird — 3 Day Preserve $20.00 Valid only on state-licensed shooting preserves
Upland Bird & Migratory (12 - 15) $35.00 Federal Stamp not required.
Wolf $19.00 $50.00 August 31 Can purchase after the season opens, but then there is a 24-hour

Key:

2013 Moose « Sheep * Goat

wait period to use the license. Limit 3 licenses per hunter.

* = Must be postmarked on or

** = Must be received by 5 pm. MST on deadline date.
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