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FISHING ACCESSSITE USE FEE TABLE

FEE CATEGORY: FEE AMOUNT:
CAMPING
Montana fishing license holders $7 per night

Montana fishing license holders
(Montana Residents: disabled or 62 yearsaerdl

$3.50 per night

Non-license holders

$12 per night

Non- license holders
(Montana Residents: disabled or 62 yearsagrjl

$6 per night

GROUP USE PERMITS! (GROUPS, EVENTS, ACTIVITIESINVOLVING MORE THAN 30 PEOPLE)

Permit

$3 per person per day or $5 per vehicle per fHay

FACILITY RENTALS

Rental

$75 per day

Deposit

$100

SPECIAL RECREATION PERMITS (BLACKFOOT AND M ADISON RIVERS)

Commercial Use

Fee amount subject to F@Rmercial Use
Permit Fee Rule

Organized Groups

$3 per person per day, 00$Whichever
amount is greater

Competitive Events

$3 per person per day100$whichever
amount is greater

COMMERCIAL USE PERMITS

Permit

Fee amount subject to FWP Commercial Uge
Permit Fee Rule

! Amendment. Group Use Permit formerly referred to as Spedi# Permit. Change made to avoid confusion wittc@pe

Recreation Permit.

2 Amendment. The minimum fee has been increased by $5 (usbd %95) to be consistent with the Bureau of Land
Management’s fee schedule (SRPs are administeredgh a partnership with the BLM).
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Fishing Access Site Annual Rule (2013)

APPLICABILITY OF RULE & SPECIAL RULES/REGULATIONS

This annual rule applies to non-commercial usesbiiig access sites, organized groups and
competitive events on the Blackfoot and Madisoensy and commercial use of the Alberton Gorge
(all other commercial use of fishing access siteggaverned by 12.14.101 through 12.14.170,
ARM).

The rule is in effect from date of adoption throu@gcember 31, 2013. The Fish, Wildlife and Parks
Commission may amend the rule at any time durirgytiime period.

Fees shall be prominently signed and posted whmgkcable.

. The department’s public use regulations, 12.8.88dugh 12.8.213, ARM, unless otherwise posted

or noted in this fee rule, shall apply to use shiing access sites.

The Commission delegates to the director or thecthr's designee the authority to post special
rules, consistent with existing department or cossion authority, related to public use, health,
safety, welfare, and resource protection per 234,-MCA.

LEGAL AUTHORITY

The Fish, Wildlife and Parks Commission has théauty to adopt these rules as annual or biennial
rules not subject to the specific requirementdhiefMontana Administrative Procedures Act per
section 2-4-102(11)(b)(iv), MCA.

Sections 23-1-105, 23-1-106, 61-3-321, 87-1-303 Aviéhd 12.8.213, ARM, authorize the
collection of fees and charges for use of Montastarig access sites, and rulemaking for the sites’
use, occupancy, and protection.

DEFINITIONS

“Camp” means to occupy a campsite overnight asltarfig access site.

“Campsite” means any area officially authorizedliow camping. This includes designated,
numbered sites, and dispersed non-numbered sites.

“Camping unit” means one sleeping device or sheilbetuding but not limited to a tent, motor
home, camping bus, truck mounted camping shell;stppé camper, or other device designed and
commonly used for sleeping.

“Commercial use” is defined as per ARM 12.14.101(3)

“Commission” means Fish, Wildlife and Parks Comriaiss

“Department” means Department of Fish, Wildlifeldharks.

“Dispersed camping” means camping that occurseasthat are not individually signed or
numbered.

“Educational group” means an organized group thafficially recognized as an educational or
scientific institution by a federal, state, or lbgavernment entity. Documentation of this
recognition must be on institutional letterhead arutude a signature by the head of the
institution/department and documentation of offieiducational or scientific tax exemption as
granted by the Internal Revenue Service. The defmbf an education group includes home
schooling per 25-5-111, MCA.
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l. “Fishing access sitt means lands that are under the control, admatistr, and jurisdiction of the
department’s Fish and Wildlife Division and wererghased for the primary purpose of providing
fishing access to streams, rivers, lakes, resexyvponds, and other water bodies.

J. “Motor vehicle” means a vehicle propelled by itsropower and designed or used to transport
persons or property upon the highways of the state.

K. “Nonprofit organization” means an organization tisadfficially registered as a 501(c)(3) tax
exempt organization.

L. “Nonresident” means a person who does not meeatdfirition of a resident as defined in 87-2-102,
MCA.

M. “Resident” means a resident of Montana as define8¥+2-102, MCA.

PENALTIES

A. No person shall use campgrounds or facilities toemvise participate in activities for which a fee
has been established without first paying the reguiee. Any violation of this provision is
punishable by a fine not to exceed $500 per 236,-MCA, and 12.8.213, ARM.

B. Violation of fee requirements, administrative rylesstate laws may result in immediate expulsion
from the area in addition to other enforcementossti

SEVERABILITY CLAUSE

A. If a part of this fee rule is invalid, all valid pg are severable from the invalid part and sleaain
in effect. If a part of this fee rule is invalid one or more of its applications, the part remains
effect in all valid applications severable from thealid applications.

CAMPING AT FISHING ACCESSSITES

A. There are no daily entrance fees at fishing acgiéss. The funding sources for operation and
maintenance of fishing access sites include revéounethe sale of fishing licenses, motor vehicle
registration fees, permit fees, and federal fundiogrce$

B. There is a fee to camp at fishing access sitesatiegbosted as fee areas. A visitor must immedgiatel
pay the required camping fee upon arriving at @upging a campsite. The camping permit must be
attached to the campsite post if available or diggdl on driver’'s side dashboard.

C. A camping fee is charged per each individually sgyjor numbered campsite unless otherwise
posted. The department may apply the campsiteofeadh camping unit for dispersed camping
areas and campsites that accommodate multiple ognopits.

D. Fishing access site camping seasons vary basedsppaific site conditions, location, and other
factors. Some sites may be closed during the wagason or other portions of the year (contact a
department regional office for detalils).

E. A person must have a valid Montana fishing licetosgualify for the reduced (lower) camping fee
at fishing access sites.

% New. Rule now includes a definition for “fishing acsesite” to distinguish these sites from other F\aiRlunits/types.
* New. Rule clarifies that there are no fees chargeghter a fishing access site, and describes thérfgrsurces for the
FAS program.
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23-1-105(2), MCA, provides that an overnight canggiee will be discounted 50% for a campsite
rented by a Montana resident who is a:

I.  senior citizen 62 years of age or older and pra/a@hoto identification with Montana
resident address (e.g., Montana Driver's Licerme);

ii.  person with a disability, verified by either a digay form obtained from the department and
signed by a physician, a Resident Disability Covaigon License, or a disability permit or
license plate issued by the Montana Motor Vehidkadibn.

Only one discount may be applied to an overnightpgiag fee, not a combination.

. Campsites may not be “held” by an individual ortpdor another individual or party arriving later.

No person may pay a camping fee or leave an iteannasans to reserve or hold an unoccupied site.

. Unless otherwise posted, the maximum occupancgcit imdividually signed or numbered campsite

is eight (8) people.

Unless otherwise posted, the maximum occupancgdt mdividually signed or numbered campsite
is one camping unit and up to two additional tef@amping unit” means one sleeping device or
shelter, including but not limited to a tent, mobmme, camping bus, truck mounted camping shell,
pull-type camper, or other device designed and contyrused for sleeping.

All camping units with the exception of tents, aldmotor vehicles, boats, trailers, motorcycles,
non-licensed recreational vehicles, and other amfidrms of transportation must be confined within
the designated parking area of the campsite cesigdated overflow (alternative) parking areas.
The department may establish a dispersed campaéagveth occupancy limits and terms and
conditions for use of the area. These areas mayreeg group use permit.

No person may leave a campsite unattended overnigiightly occupancy is required.

. No person may leave a vehicle unattended for nie 48 hours unless the area is otherwise

posted.

. Camping at one or more campsites in any one ddsigmacreation area for a period longer than

fourteen (14) days during any 30-day period is fimtéd unless otherwise posted. In areas so
posted, said occupancy shall be limited to seveddys during any 30-day period. Such 30-day
periods shall run consecutively during the year m@mcing with the first day each person camps in
a designated recreation area each year.

No person may set up camp in areas other thanrddsi) campgrounds, or in any department-
administered shelter building unless the sheltpo&ed as a camp shelter.

No person or group may set up camp or otherwisemca campsite that has already been occupied
or paid for by another person or group.

. Checkout time for campers using fee areas is 2100 e following day unless otherwise posted.

All camping fees include the 7% State of Montaneoatmodation tax as per 15-65-111 & 15-68-
102, MCA.

GRouUP Use PERMITS®

All groups, events, or activities that include mtran 30 people must secure a group use permit
prior to using a fishing access site. Examplesrofigs or events that may require a group use permit
include but are not limited to wedding parties, iligmeunions, fishing contests, and research
activities. A group use permit may also be requfaedyroups of 30 or fewer people or special

> Amendment. Amended to clarify that the intent of this langaas to prohibit people from using FASs as a ptadeave
vehicles unattended.
® Amendment. See earlier footnote for explanation on changBpecial Use Permit” to “Group Use Permit”.
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events and activities based on management or i@spuotection objectives for a site, special rules
or regulations, or other determining factors.
. Groups, events or activities that meet the de@iniof commercial use are governed by the
department’s commercial use ru{€&ommercial Use Administrative Rules, ARM 12.14.1B6dough
12.14.170 and the Commercial Use Permit Fee Rule).
. Group use permit applications should be submitteti¢ appropriate regional office a minimum of
seven (7) days prior to the proposed date of use.
. A group use permit may be issued to a group owiddal representing a group.
. The department may deny or amend a request farupgrse permit based on the management and
resource protection goals for a site or other axdéng circumstances.
. The proposed group use must comply with pertinexte nd federal laws and regulations including
public health, safety, and air and water quality.
. A group or individual receiving a group use permist comply with the terms, conditions, and
stipulations of the permit. The department mayl@sta limits on the size of groups.
. The proposed group use must not adversely impaghloering properties, existing archaeological,
historical, cultural, or natural values and musteumnflict with management objectives and
guidelines.
The department may assess a fee for group usshaidiaccess sites. The fee must be submitted in
advance with the permit application unless otheswsisecified by the department. Refer to the
Fishing Access Site Use Fee Table to calculatecaipé fees.
. The department may adjust the group use permitgaeard or downward to accommodate the
nature of the activity, compensate for site impactdepartment staffing needs, or for other unique
circumstances pertaining to the permitted activity.
. The department may adjust the group use permibrieee case-by-case basis for educational groups
when the following conditions are met:
i.  the group is from a bona fide institution that nseée definition of an educational group;
ii.  the group provides a written explanation of theoational purpose of the visit; and
iii.  the use is not primarily for recreational purposes.
. The department may adjust the group use permibriege case-by-case basis when the group or
event:
i.  donates proceeds or services to the managemenpoovement of fishing access sites,
including the maintenance, management, or the iagmnent or development of facilities;
ii.  donates proceeds from the event or activity torgonafit organization or charitable cause; or
iii.  is organized primarily for children under the adg¢hirteen.
. A cleaning/security deposit may be required in adeafor group use permits. The department may
waive the deposit requirement for groups that haewiously reserved a facility and demonstrated
satisfactory cleanup and/or restoration of resaumned facilities and compliance with the permit
terms and conditions.

FACILITY RENTALS

. An individual or group may reserve a shelter oreotfacility subject to availability and approval by
staff. The department may deny the reservationastgor stipulate the conditions of use based on
the nature of the proposed use and the regulasindsnmanagement objectives in place at the fishing
access site where the use would occur.

. There is a rental fee for use of shelters and dtmglities. The fee must be paid prior to useld t
facility.
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. The department may adjust the rental fee on a logsmse basis for educational groups or an

individual or group that donates money or servimethe management or improvement of fishing
access sites.

. A cleaning/security deposit may be required andtnmessubmitted in advance with the facility

rental fee. The department shall assess the cleamd/pr restoration of resources and facilities and
if conditions are satisfactory the department steiind the deposit.

The department may waive the deposit requirementgfoups that have previously reserved a
facility and demonstrated satisfactory cleanup @nadstoration of resources and facilities.

The department shall refund the cleaning/securgyodgit if the reservation is canceled more than
seven (7) days in advance. If a reservation iseladdess than seven (@ays before the intended
use period, the cleaning/deposit shall be retainédhe facility is unavailable for the intendedeu
due to unforeseen conditions, both the fee andsieglall be refunded.

SPECIAL RECREATION PERMITS

The department, in conjunction with the Bureau ahd Management (BLM), requires a Special
Recreation Permit for commercial use, competitivengs, and organized group activities at
department and BLM access sites along the Blaclioggr and Madison River.
I. “Commercial use” is defined as per ARM 12.14.101(3
ii. “Competitive event” means any organized, sanctipoedtructured use, event, or activity on
lands owned or managed by the department or relat@ers in which two or more
contestants compete, the participants registeer.eot complete an application for the event,
and/or a predetermined course or area is designated
iii.  “Organized group activity” means a structured, oede consolidated, or scheduled event on,
or occupation of, lands owned or managed by theareent or related waters that is not
commercial or competitive.

B. The department shall issue Special Recreation Bepursuant to ARM 12.11.6501 through

12.11.6575, the department’'s Commercial Use Adnratise Rules (ARM 12.14.101 through
12.14.170), and the Commercial Use Permit Fee Rule.

Blackfoot River Special Regulations:
C. The maximum sizes for organized and commercialggan the Blackfoot River are as follows:

River Reach Organized Groups Commercial Groups
Maximum size, (individuals) Maximum size, (individuals)

1. Headwaters to the Mineral Hill area 0 0 flogtiB wading
2. Mineral Hill area to North Fork confluence 12 21
3. North Fork confluence (or Harry Morgar?l 21

FAS) to Russell Gates FAS
4. Russell Gates FAS to Roundup FAS 30 (40 Mayune 15) 30 (40 May 1 - June 15)
5. Roundup FAS to Johnsrud Park FAS* 30 (40 Mayltne 15) 30 (40 May 1 — June 15)
6. Johnsrud Park FAS to Bonner Based upon sitecigp Based upon site capacity
7. North Fork of Blackfoot to Harry MorganO 12

FAS (confluence).

*At Whitaker Bridge FAS, the maximum commercial gposize will be 25 individuals from June 15 throdgibor Day.
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Exceptions to the maximum group sizes on the BlzwkRiver are as follows:

I.  river reaches four (4) and five (5) include a wiviléer season (May 1 through June 15) with
special group sizes to accommodate the traditigpr@hg runoff and whitewater rafting
season;

ii.  the Regional Supervisor or desigmeay adjust this time period annually to addressea
peak spring flow conditions.

A person may apply for a Blackfoot River speciareation permit and request to exceed the
maximum group size limit. In such cases, the depamt may conduct an environmental assessment
to assess the predicted impacts of the requesh I@gaests may be subject to cost recovery.

“Site capacity” on the Blackfoot River is the numbé people each site can accommodate without
significant impacts to the site resources or saxglerience. It is the maximum use level for all
recreational use, including the combined use @fcaegation site by the general public and any
permitted recreational uses (commercial, competiind organized groups). Each permit in this
river reach shall be determined on a case-by basis.

. The impacts and acceptable size limits for competigvents on the Blackfoot River shall be

assessed on site-specific capacities and suiiabiilite permitted group size for a competitive event
may be smaller than the maximum group size formmmagal and commercial use based on the
cumulative impacts of all anticipated use. Spe@ateation permits do not grant exclusive use of a
recreation site to any permitted group.

. The following criteria shall be used to determihe maximum group size for a proposed

competitive event on the Blackfoot River:
i.  whether the competitive events is consistent withrhanagement objectives outlined in the
Blackfoot River Recreation Management Plan;
ii.  whether the combination of the anticipated gengualic use and the special recreation
permit use is expected to be within the site capdianits;
iii.  whether the site is capable of accommodating tbpgsed number of people and vehicles
without damage or degradation to the facilitiesesources;
iv.  whether the proposed activity and group size ispatible with the site facilities;
v. the timing and duration of the proposed event; and
vi.  benefits to the public and/or river resources.
If the proposed event is to occur in critical natfish recovery areas, the activity must be coestst
with current bull trout recovery considerations.

COMMERCIAL USE PERMITS

Commercial use permit requirements and fees aemntifted in the department’s Commercial Use
Administrative Rules (ARM 12.14.101 through 12.1I), and the Commercial Use Permit Fee
Rule. Exception: See below for special regulatemgommercial use on the Alberton Gorge.

Alberton Gorge Special Regulations:

B.

C.

Alberton Gorge shall be defined as the region bebtnand including Cyr fishing access site to
Tarkio fishing access site along the Clark ForkeRiv

Commercial use, as defined in ARM 12.14.101(3)hinithe Gorge is limited to commercial use
that demonstrated “Historical Commercial Use” af thorge prior to January 1, 1998 by registering
with the department by March 15, 1999. Those wiledao demonstrate proof of prior commercial
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use by that date are not considered historical ceroial users and therefore are prohibited from

conducting commercial use within the Gorge.
D. In accordance with ARM 12.14.120(1), a restricted permit is required in advance to conduct
commercial use within the Alberton Gorge.

E. The department’'s Commercial Use Administrative RERM 12.14.101 through ARM 12.14.170)
and Commercial Use Permit Fee Rule apply to comiadarse within Alberton Gorge.

FOOD STORAGE’

The department may designate fishing access shesavbear resistant food storage is required.
Food storage requirements shall be prominentiyesigand posted where applicable.

Bear resistant food storage shall be required sigdated fishing access sites per the followingifoo
storage order:

1. Human, pet and livestock food (except baled or duisey without additives), garbage, and all
other attractants shall be stored in an approvad flesistant manner or container when camp is
unattended or during nighttime hours.

2. Wildlife carcasses, birds, fish or other animaltpainat are within ¥4 mile of any camp or
sleeping area shall be stored in an approved lesgstant manner or container when unattended.
If a wildlife carcass is within an attended campimigi daytime hours it may be on the ground.

3. Attractants (such as food leftovers or bacon giestsall not be buried, discarded, or burned in
an open campfire.

a) Leftover food or food waste products may be plaoesh appropriate, sealed container
and packed out with garbage or deposited in ateséstant trash receptacle where
provided.

b) Leftover food or other attractants may be burnea @ontained stove fire.

c) Attractants may be placed into a suitable contgj@gr. tin can) to prevent leaching into
the ground and burned over an open campfire. Amanging attractants unconsumed by
burning shall be placed with other garbage and gdckit or deposited in a bear resistant
trash receptacle where provided.

4. The responsible party for any dead pack animakestock shall report the death and location of
any livestock to a FWP employee within 24 hourslistovery. The responsible party will be
required to dispose of the carcass as directedgépartment. In some very remote areas, it
may not be possible to meet the 24-hour requirenhetihese special cases, the responsible
party shall report to a FWP employee, the discoeény dead livestock within 48 hours.

5. Bear-resistant containers must meet the follownitgria:

a) A securable container constructed of solid mateaalable of withstanding 200 foot-
pounds of energy applied by direct impact.
b) The container, when secured and under stresspatithave any openings greater than
1/4 inch, that would allow a bear to gain entryldityng or pulling with its claws.
Bear-resistant container testing and approval pirograre available through the US Forest
Service. Other bear-resistant containers develéggaersonal use may be inspected for
approval by the local FWP game warden or fishingeas site coordinator or their designated
representative(s).

o>

" New. The FAS Rule includes a new section that woulshathe department to require food storage atfiigliccess sites. This
authority would be applied at fishing access sithsre there is a concern for human — wildlife ciatgl primarily sites where bears
may be present and there is a public safety concern
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D. Definitions:

1.

7.
8.

9.

“Attended” means at least one adult person (atendghysically present within 100 feet of,
and can visually observe attractants at all timissended camp policy does not apply when
campers are asleep or do not have visual contéictand physical control of the attractants.
During nighttime hours, control is defined by hayihe attractant within arm’s reach or secured
in an agency approved container or manner.
“Attractant” means any item potentially attractisugd/or rewarding a bear. This shall include:

a) food as defined below

b) food leftovers (bones, scraps, grease)

c) garbage from humans

d) livestock foods (except baled or cubed hay witlremiditives)

e) pet foods

f) wildlife carcasses

g) livestock carcasses
“Food” means any nourishing substance, which inetuguman food or drink (canned, solid or
liquid), livestock feed (except baled or cubed hétphout additives), pet food, toothpaste, soap,
birdseed, and hummingbird food.
“Attendee” means an adult (14 years of age or dldecontrol of attractants.
“Bear-resistant container” means a securable coetaionstructed of solid material capable of
withstanding 200 foot-pounds of energy applied bgal impact. The container, when secured
and under stress, will not have any openings grélad® one-quarter (1/4) inch, that would allow
a bear to gain entry by biting or pulling with diaws.
“Bear-resistant manner” means the storage of angcsént or foods in one of the following
ways:

a) Secured in a hard-sided camper, vehicle trunkocdtailer cab.

b) Secured in a hard-sided dwelling or storage buidin

c) Suspended at least 10 feet up (from the bottorheostispended item) and 4 feet out

from any upright support (i.e. tree, pole).

d) Stored in an agency approved bear-resistant camtain

e) Stored within an approved and operating electmcée

f) Stored in any combination of these methods.

g) Stored by methods other than those described ,itheif shall be approved

in writing by the FWP Regional Supervisor.

“Contained fire stove” means a metal stove thatmetely encloses the fire.
“Daytime” means 1/2-hour before sunrise until 18+hafter sunset.
“Nighttime” means 1/2-hour after sunset until 1/&4hbefore sunrise.

10.“Livestock” means cattle, sheep or a domesticatadk jpr riding animal, such as mule, horse,

llama, or goat.

11.“Wildlife carcass” means the body, or any partseb& of any deceased wild animal, bird, or

fish.

12.“Approved electric fence means, at a minimum:

a) The fence will be set up as a “tight wire” fencehe wire will be tight and under

tension, not loose or sagging, and posts willitmely installed.

b) Minimum fence height: 40 inches to top wire.

¢) Maximum spacing between posts: 8 feet.

d) Wire conductors: Minimum of 4 hot wires evenly spaavith no more than 10-inch
spacing between wires. Bottom hot wire must beiwill® inches of the ground. Top hot
wire must be within 1 inch of the top of each pmsattached to the highest connector on
fabricated posts. All wire must be smooth metaté&wire of at least 16-guage or poly

10
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wire of 9 or more steel strands. The minimum lerggbund rod is 2 feet, of which a
minimum of 23” is driven into the ground.

e) Fence charger (minimum): (1) stored energy of 6ulgs; (2) tested peak output of
5000 volts; (3) 40 shocks per minute. User mesalfle to test electrical output in the
field.

f) The charger must be made inaccessible to distuebfaoi a bear. The charger may
be stored within the interior of the fence or kecha minimum of 10 feet above the
ground.

g) Minimum distance between fence and items enclogegldrtric fence: 3 feet.

11



