
 
           

RESIDENT FUR DEALER, NONRESIDENT FUR DEALER, FUR DEALER’S AGENT  
LICENSE APPLICATION 

           
 
NAME________________________________________________      ALS # ____________________ 
 
BUSINESS NAME___________________________________________________________________ 
 
BUSINESS ADDRESS________________________________________________________________ 
 
MAILING ADDRESS_________________________________________________________________ 
 
CITY___________________________________________________STATE______ZIP____________ 
 
(Check below the license you are applying for) 
 

Resident Fur Dealer’s License …………………..$10.00 
Nonresident Fur Dealer’s License ………………(Reciprocal) 
Fur Dealer’s Agent License ……………………..$10.00 

 
If you are applying for a Fur Dealer’s Agent license, give the following information: 
 
Fur Dealer’s License Number___________ 
Fur Dealer’s Principal Place of Business_______________________________________________________ 
      Address   City   State 
  

ALL LICENSES EXPIRE YEARLY ON APRIL 30TH 
 
 

Montana law prohibits the department from compiling lists for public distribution without permission of each person on 
the list.  If you wish to be included on the list of Fur Dealer’s for public distribution, please sign the statement below.  
You will not be included on the list if you do not sign. 
 
You have my permission to include my name or firm on the list of Fur Dealer’s for public distribution. 
 Yes-you may include my name   No - you may not include my name 
 
Return to:     ____________________________________ 
Law Enforcement      Signature 
Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks 
1420 E. 6th Ave. 
PO Box 200701     ____________________________________ 
Helena MT  59620-0701     Date 
 
 
Rev.04/2014 



 
87-4-301. Fur dealers defined. (1) A person or persons, firm, company, or corporation engaging in, carrying on, or 

conducting wholly or in part the business of buying or selling, trading, or dealing within the state of Montana in the skins or 
pelts of any animal or animals designated by the laws of Montana as fur-bearing or predatory animals is considered a fur dealer 
within the meaning of this part. 

(2) If the fur dealer resides in or if the fur dealer's principal place of business is within the state of Montana, the fur dealer is 
considered a resident fur dealer. All other fur dealers are considered nonresident fur dealers. 

 
87-4-302. Records and inspection. (1) A fur dealer shall keep a book in which shall be recorded separately on the date of 

each transaction the following facts: 
(a) the number and kind of all skins or pelts purchased or sold by the fur dealer; 
(b) the place where the skins or furs were killed or trapped and a separate record of all the skins or pelts as were killed or 

trapped outside this state; 
(c) the trapping license number under which the furs or pelts were taken in cases where a trapper's license is 

required; 
(d) the names and addresses of the persons to whom the skins or pelts were sold or from whom they were 

purchased. 
(2) This book shall be open at all reasonable times to the inspection of the director or any warden or any United States 

game warden and shall be preserved and accessible for 1 year after the expiration of any license granted to the fur dealer. 
 

87-4-303. Persons required to have fur dealer's license. A fur dealer shall, before buying, selling, or in any manner 
dealing in the skins or pelts of any fur-bearing or predatory animal within this state, secure a fur dealer's license from the 
director. A license is not required for a hunter or trapper selling skins or pelts that the hunter or trapper has lawfully taken or 
for a person who is not a fur dealer who purchases skins or pelts exclusively for the person's own use and not for sale. 

 
87-4-304. License classification and fees. (1) The following classes of licenses may be issued and the following fees 

charged for the licenses: 
(a) resident fur dealer's 
license, $10; (b) nonresident 
fur dealer's license: 
(i) the same as the fee charged in the nonresident's state of residence for a Montana fur dealer seeking licensure in that 

state; or 
(ii) if the nonresident's state does not issue a nonresident fur dealer's license, $50; 
(c) fur dealer's agent's license, $10. 
(2) A person who is employed by a resident or nonresident fur dealer as a traveling fur buyer is considered a fur dealer's 

agent. A fur dealer's agent's license may be issued to any person who is employed as a fur buyer by a licensed resident or 
licensed nonresident fur dealer, providing that it is the responsibility of each fur dealer and fur dealer's agent to have the proper 
license before buying or dealing in furs as defined in  87-4-301. 

 
87-4-305. Issuance and expiration of licenses. The license required by this part shall be issued annually and shall expire 

on April 30 of each year, and no reduction in the fee charged for said license shall be made in any case where said license runs 
for less than 1 year. 

 
87-4-306. Violations. A person, firm, company, or corporation may not violate any of the provisions of this part. A 

person convicted of a violation is subject to the penalties provided in  87-6-704. 
 

87-6-704. Fur dealer offenses. A person convicted of a violation of  87-4-302 or  87-4-303 related to the licensing and 
recordkeeping of a fur dealer shall be fined not less than $50 or more than $1,000 or be imprisoned in the county detention 
center for not more than 6 months, or both. In addition, the person, upon conviction or forfeiture of bond or bail, may be subject 
to forfeiture of any current hunting, fishing, or trapping license issued by the state and the privilege to hunt, fish, or trap in this 
state or to use state lands, as defined in  77-1-101, for recreational purposes for a period of time set by the court. 

 
 

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/87/4/87-4-301.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/87/6/87-6-704.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/87/4/87-4-302.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/87/4/87-4-303.htm
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/77/1/77-1-101.htm
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