You must have a hunting license to hunt any of Montana's game animals. To purchase a Montana hunting license, any person born after January 1, 1985 must show a certificate of completing a hunter education course issued by:
This law became effective October 1, 2003 (MCA 87-2-105). Hunter education is NOT required if you were born on or prior to January 1, 1985.
Montana's program follows the standards established by the International Hunter Education Association. By meeting these standards, the Montana hunter education certificate is recognized and honored in all of North America.
A student must be at least 11 years old to become certified in hunter education. This minimum age requirement ensures that the student is mature enough to understand the course material and physically strong enough to handle hunting equipment during class. There is no maximum age limit. Anyone is welcome to take the course, especially parents who want to accompany their child.
Classes are a minimum of 12 hours in length. You must attend all of the sessions and pass a final exam to become certified and a field course typically completes the program.
Any Montana youth 12–17, who completes hunter education, is eligible to receive their FIRST hunting license absolutely free. The Resident Youth Combination Sports License includes: a conservation license, fishing license, upland game bird license, hunting access enhancement, elk license, and deer A license. After completing hunter education, stop by any FWP office and get your first hunting license for free!
View the online schedule to see when and where a class is being offered in your area. If you can't find what you're looking for please contact FWP regional offices directly.
If you are already registered for a class and need to review the details or cancel your registration, please log back into your account here.
The Adult Online Hunter Education Course allows you to complete the classroom portion of the Montana Hunter Education Course online; you must still attend a practical field course portion to become certified.
Begin your hunter education certification by studying at home on your computer. Upon successful completion of the online hunter education course (which is confirmed by taking an exam online) you will be issued a Field Day Qualifier Certificate. This Field Day Qualifier Certificate is necessary to obtain entrance into the final portion of your hunter education course, which takes place with certified Montana instructors in the field. After completing the field day portion, you will then receive your official proof of course completion. Note, if you were born on or prior to January 1, 1985 you are not required to complete the field course. For more information and to start the course click here.
If you have completed the online education course already (i.e. you have a "Field Day Qualifier Certificate" in hand) and are now interested in registering for a field day click here .
The heart of Montana’s Hunter and Bowhunter Education programs is the corps of dedicated volunteer instructors. [Learn more]