State of Montana Website Montana State Parks Website
The Montana Challenge Team

Sponsoring Agencies

Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife, & Parks
Rob Brooks
Responsive Management Unit Coordinator
Montana Fish, Wildlife, & Parks
1420 East Sixth Avenue
P.O. Box 200701
Helena, MT 59620-0701
(406) 444-5786
Rob Brooks

US Forest Service—Northern Region
Cindy S. Swanson
Director, Watershed, Wildlife, Fisheries & Rare Plants
USDA Forest Service, Northern Region
P.O. Box 7669
Missoula, MT 59807
(406) 329-3520
cswanson@fs.fed.us

We Gratefully Acknowledge Financial Supporters

Bureau of Land Management
US Fish and Wildlife Service
Cinnabar Foundation
Claiborne-Ortenberg Foundation
Alex C. Walker Foundation
Land Trust Alliance-Northern Rockies Project Office

Research Report Authors

One State—Three Regions: A Biophysical Description
Tom Palmer
Information Bureau Chief
Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife, & Parks
1420 East Sixth Avenue
P.O. Box 200701
Helena, MT 59620-0701
Tom Palmer

Demography of Montana in the Changing West
George S. Masnick
Senior Fellow
Joint Center for Housing Studies, Harvard University
P.O. Box 771
Hamilton, MT 59840
(406) 363-6654
gmasnick@montana.com

Montana's Regionally Diverse Economy
Larry D. Swanson
Associate Director
Center for the Rocky Mountain West
University of Montana
Milwaukee Station, 2 nd Floor
Missoula, MT
(406) 243-7700
swanson@crmw.org

The Political Environment and The State of the Land
Jerry Johnson
Associate Professor
Political Science Department
Montana State University
Bozeman, MT 59717-2920
(406) 994-5164
jdj@montana.edu

Non-Market Economic Values
John Duffield
Adjunct Research Professor of Economics
University of Montana, Missoula
Bioecon@montana.com

Social Values Reflected in the News
Joseph G. Champ
Assistant Professor, Department of Journalism and Technical Communication
Colorado State University
C-258 Andrew G. Clark Bldg
Fort Collins, CO 80523
(970) 491-3286
champj@lamar.colostate.edu

Fish and Wildlife Recreation
Cindy S. Swanson
Director, Watershed, Wildlife, Fisheries & Rare Plants
USDA Forest Service, Northern Region
P.O. Box 7669
Missoula, MT 59807
(406) 329-3520
cswanson@fs.fed.us

The Legal Landscape
John L. Horwich
Professor, Environmental Law
Director, Land Use Planning Clinic
University of Montana, Missoula
horwich@selway.umt.edu

Project Development and Management

SuzAnne M. Miller
Dunrovin Research
P.O. Box 822
5375 Terry Lane
Lolo, MT 59847-0822
(406) 273-7745
dunrovin@bigsky.net

Writing and Communications

Susan Bury
Stauffer Bury Inc.
P.O. Box 727
214 S. Platt Avenue
Red Lodge, MT 59068
(406) 446-2563
susan@staufferbury.com