You are here:   Home » Doing Business » Inside FWP » Commission

Fish & Wildlife Commission

Click map for details

Commission Districts
(Click map for details)

The five-member Commission is appointed by the Governor from five geographical districts. Members serve staggered four-year terms, with three members appointed at the beginning of the Governor's term and two appointed two years after the Governor's term begins. The appointments are to be made without regard to political affiliation and to be made solely for the wise management of the fish and wildlife of the state. At least one member must be experienced in the breeding and management of domestic livestock.

The Commission is a quasi-judicial citizen board whose general authority and duties are further defined and shaped by specific responsibilities in the statutes.

The Department is an executive branch agency under the Governor. The Director of the Department is appointed by the Governor and reports to the Governor. The Department has duties and responsibilities as provided by statute.

In summary, the Department administers the day-to-day activities of the Department under the executive branch with specific statutory duties and the Commission sets fish and wildlife regulations, approves property acquisitions, and approves certain rules and activities of the Department as provided by statute.

Contact Commissioners



See the Members page for addresses and phone number for each Commissioner.

Recent Commission News

Tendoy Sheep Reduction Continuation Proposed


During a conference call Monday morning August 29th at 8:30 am from the Fish, Wildlife & Parks headquarters in Helena, the Fish and Wildlife Commission will hear a proposal from FWP to continue a bighorn sheep elimination effort in the Tendoy Mountains that was initiated in 2015.

(Headquarters - Commission)

Fish and Wildlife Commission to meet Aug. 11 in Helena


The Montana Fish and Wildlife Commission will make final decisions on a variety of proposals and hear information on a handful of others at their regular monthly meeting Aug. 11 at Montana WILD in Helena.

(Headquarters - Commission)