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Conservation License Frequently Asked Questions

. What is a Conservation License?

A Conservation License is required to access most state lands. You need to have a Montana
Conservation License in your possession if you're at a fishing access site (FAS), wildlife
management area (WMA) or to recreate on any state land.

. Who needs a Conservation License?

Everyone 12 and older needs a Conservation License to access most state lands. And, as in the
past, all apprentice hunters, even those ages 10 and 11, are required to have a Conservation
License.

. How do | purchase a Conservation License?

A Montana Conservation License can be purchased on the FWP website at ols.fwp.mt.gov/, at a
local FWP office, or from a license vendor.

. What lands require a Conservation License?

FASes, WMAs, wildlife habitat protection areas (WHPAs), and Montana state trust lands require
a Conservation License. Montana State Parks do not.

. How is this different than before?

It used to be that only hunters and anglers helped to pay the cost for maintenance at these
sites, now everyone who uses them will help pay.

. Is all state trust land open to recreation?

Most legally accessible state trust land is open to the public for recreational use but is subject to
certain closures and restrictions. Check closures and restrictions at dnrc.mt.gov/recreation.

. Will | get a ticket if | don’t have one?

Recreationists not holding a Conservation License may be issued a written warning upon a first
offense. Subsequent offenses may be cited.

. What if I'm just using the bathroom at an FAS?
You don’t need a Conservation License to access a latrine.
. If I’'m just using my local FAS to walk my dog, do | need one?

Walking your dog at an FAS is considered recreating and requires a Conservation License.


https://ols.fwp.mt.gov/
https://dnrc.mt.gov/recreation
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. The FAS I’'m going to already has a camping fee. Do | also need a Conservation License?
Camping fees do not include a Conservation License, so you need to purchase one separately.
. How often do | need to buy a Conservation License?

A Conservation License lasts from March 1 to the end of February the following year, which is
considered the FWP license year.

. What is the difference between FWP land and Montana state trust land?

FWP land is managed by FWP. State trust land is managed by the Montana Department of
Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC) to produce revenue for Montana K-12 schools and
other public institutions, helping fund education in the state.

. How much is a Conservation License?

e Montana resident:
o Adult: $8
o Youth, 12-17, and apprentice hunters ages 10 and 11: $4
o Senior, 62+: $4

e Nonresident: $10

. What is the money used for?

It helps cover the cost of managing recreation at the more than 75 WMAs, nearly 350 FASes,
and more than a million acres of state land around Montana. FWP pays a fee to DNRC at the
rate of $3.50 for every conservation license sold. This fee is held in trust for Montana K-12
schools and other public institutions, helping fund education in Montana.

. What'’s the best way to carry a Conservation License?

You can save it in the MyFWP app, carry a printout of the license with you, or take a screenshot
of the PDF.

. Why is it required now?

A new law was passed by the 2023 Montana Legislature and signed into law by Gov. Greg
Gianforte. This new law is convenient for customers, simple to enforce, and allows people who
don’t buy a fishing or hunting licenses to help pay for the diverse use on state lands across the
state.



