## FWP.MT.GOV



## THE **OUTSIDE** IS IN US ALL.

Law Enforcement 1420 E. 6<sup>th</sup> Ave. P.O. Box 200701 Helena, MT 59620-0701 Ph: 406.444.2452 Fax: 406.444.7894

## RESIDENT FUR DEALER, NONRESIDENT FUR DEALER, FUR DEALER'S AGENT LICENSE APPLICATION

NAME	ALS#		
BUSINESS NAME			
BUSINESS ADDRESS			
MAILING ADDRESS			
CITY	STATEZ	IP	
EMAIL			
☐ Nonresident Fur Dealer's	for) ense\$10.00 License(Reciprocal) se\$10.00		
If you are applying for a Fur Dealer's Age	nt license, give the following information:		
Fur Dealer License Number:			
Fur Dealers Principal Place of Business	11		Charle
A	ddress	City	State
ALL LIC	ENSES EXPIRE YEARLY ON APRIL 30'	TH	
provided by Fish, Wildlife & Parks t	ests for mailing lists. Do you want your o requestors?  name		<u>ı lists</u>
Return to:			
Law Enforcement  Montone Fish Wildlife & Poulse	Signature:		
Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks PO Box 200701			
Helena MT 59620-0701	Date:		

- **87-4-301.** Fur dealers defined. (1) A person or persons, firm, company, or corporation engaging in, carrying on, or conducting wholly or in part the business of buying or selling, trading, or dealing within the state of Montana in the skins or pelts of any animal or animals designated by the laws of Montana as fur-bearing or predatory animals is considered a fur dealer within the meaning of this part.
- (2) If the fur dealer resides in or if the fur dealer's principal place of business is within the state of Montana, the fur dealer is considered a resident fur dealer. All other fur dealers are considered nonresident fur dealers.
- **87-4-302. Records and inspection.** (1) A fur dealer shall keep a book in which shall be recorded separately on the date of each transaction the following facts:
- (a) the number and kind of all skins or pelts purchased or sold by the fur dealer;
- (b) the place where the skins or furs were killed or trapped and a separate record of all the skins or pelts as were killed or trapped outside this state;
- (c) the trapping license number under which the furs or pelts were taken in cases where a trapper's license is required;
- (d) the names and addresses of the persons to whom the skins or pelts were sold or from whom they were purchased.
- (2) This book shall be open at all reasonable times to the inspection of the director or any warden or any United States game warden and shall be preserved and accessible for 1 year after the expiration of any license granted to the fur dealer.
- **87-4-303. Persons required to have fur dealer's license.** A fur dealer shall, before buying, selling, or in any manner dealing in the skins or pelts of any fur-bearing or predatory animal within this state, secure a fur dealer's license from the director. A license is not required for a hunter or trapper selling skins or pelts that the hunter or trapper has lawfully taken or for a person who is not a fur dealer who purchases skins or pelts exclusively for the person's own use and not for sale.
- **87-4-304.** License classification and fees. (1) The following classes of licenses may be issued, and the following fees charged for the licenses:
- (a) resident fur dealer's license, \$10; (b) nonresident fur dealer's license:
- (i) the same as the fee charged in the nonresident's state of residence for a Montana fur dealer seeking licensure in that state: or
- (ii) if the nonresident's state does not issue a nonresident fur dealer's license, \$50; (c) fur dealer's agent's license, \$10.
- (2) A person who is employed by a resident or nonresident fur dealer as a traveling fur buyer is considered a fur dealer's agent. A fur dealer's agent's license may be issued to any person who is employed as a fur buyer by a licensed resident or licensed nonresident fur dealer, providing that it is the responsibility of each fur dealer and fur dealer's agent to have the proper license before buying or dealing in furs as defined in 87-4-301.
- **87-4-305. Issuance and expiration of licenses.** The license required by this part shall be issued annually and shall expire on April 30 of each year, and no reduction in the fee charged for said license shall be made in any case where said license runs for less than 1 year.
- **87-4-306.** Violations. A person, firm, company, or corporation may not violate any of the provisions of this part. A person convicted of a violation is subject to the penalties provided in 87-6-704.
- **87-6-704. Fur dealer offenses.** A person convicted of a violation of 87-4-302 or 87-4-303 related to the licensing and recordkeeping of a fur dealer shall be fined not less than \$50 or more than \$1,000 or be imprisoned in the county detention center for not more than 6 months, or both. In addition, the person, upon conviction or forfeiture of bond or bail, may be subject to forfeiture of any current hunting, fishing, or trapping license issued by the state and the privilege to hunt, fish, or trap in this state or to use state lands, as defined in 77-1-101, for recreational purposes for a period of time set by the court.