THE OUTSIDE IS IN US ALL.



Off-Highway Vehicle Program Nonresident Temporary-Use Permit FAQ

- What is the Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) Temporary-Use Permit? The permit allows nonresidents the opportunity to legally ride their OHVs in Montana. In 2019, the Montana State Legislature passed a bill to align the permit's requirements more closely with surrounding states' regulations. The updated requirements are now in effect.
- **2.** Who must purchase the permit? Nonresidents who wish to ride their OHVs in Montana must purchase the permit.
- **3. Who is exempt from purchasing the permit?** No one is exempt from purchasing the permit.
- 4. How long is the permit valid? The permit is valid for one season. It expires on December 31 of the year of purchase.
- 5. How much does the permit cost? Each permit costs \$35.

FWP.MT.GOV

6. Where do I put the permit decal?

The permit decal should be placed on the OHV so that it is clearly visible and identifiable from a distance.

7. Where can I purchase a permit?

Permits can be purchased through the Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks Online Licensing Service, atany FWP office, or from local vendors. More information, including a list of vendors, can be found at

<u>http://stateparks.mt.gov/recreation/ohvProgram.html</u> under "OHV Permits and Laws."

8. What are the revenues from the permit used for?

Revenue from each permit will be divided as follows:

- \$27.50 into grants to maintain OHV trails
- \$2.50 towards enforcement of OHV laws
- \$1 to mitigate and eradicate noxious weeds along OHV trails
- \$2 to Search and Rescue
- \$2 to the permit seller